Routers Rebooting Randomly

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

vvntr

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 19, 2018
Messages
8
So I've been having this issue for a little while now. My router would randomly reboot. My wired and wireless connections would disappear and reappear. It became so much of an issue that I replaced my router today.

Now here's the strange part. The new router is experiencing the same random drops. I don't know how to begin diagnosing this. It's not the modem dropping, because the networks disappear. If it were the modem causing the issue, the networks would stay up but not have internet connectivity.

Can someone please help me figure this out?

So far the only thing I've tried is plugging the router into a different power outlet.
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
80,476
So far the only thing I've tried is plugging the router into a different power outlet.
I'd say that you are on the right track. Not using a surge protector or power strip, right? And the different outlet is also on a different circuit?
 

vvntr

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 19, 2018
Messages
8
I've had the router plugged in to a power strip/surge protector, and directly to the wall. No difference. I'm actually not sure if the two rooms are on the same breaker or not. I will investigate that today.
 

vvntr

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 19, 2018
Messages
8
The two outlets I tried are in different rooms. The trouble is that I'm limited on where I can position the router due to my primary PC being wired in. I could possibly test the entire setup in a different room (We only have two coaxial connections in the house), but that wouldn't be a permanent solution as it's on the other side of the house and my PC can't go there.
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
80,476
Some other things to ponder or investigate ...

If necessary to test with a different circuit use an extension cord instead of moving the router. In my experience adjacent rooms are often on the same circuit. And some older or small apartments may be completely on one circuit.

Have a lamp turned on or a "sensitive" clock to show that power is lost or reduced (as opposed to a problem with only the router).

Anything (air conditioner, freezer, ...) that could cause the power to be briefly reduced enough to cause problems for the router even though power is not completely lost?
 

vvntr

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 19, 2018
Messages
8
Okay, I've just daisy chained 3 extension cords so I could plug the thing into the living room.
 

vvntr

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 19, 2018
Messages
8
...and it dropped within 5 minutes of coming online. I'm tearing my hair out trying to think of a solution.
 

vvntr

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 19, 2018
Messages
8
Something I don't quite understand is why this is happening more frequently than before?
 

vvntr

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 19, 2018
Messages
8
Alright, I've now moved the extension train to the bathroom. Round three?
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
80,476
When you find the culprit the increase in frequency may be obvious.

I'm now assuming that you have no clue about how many circuits you have nor of what lights/appliances/outlets are on each.
 

vvntr

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 19, 2018
Messages
8
Correct. We're renting a lower duplex, we have all the breakers for the house down here though, so I could systematically close and open them to see what's wired together. For the time being, I've removed the dedicated router from the network and enabled the router functionality of our modem. This should stabilize things while I continue to troubleshoot. At least I know it's not my old router causing the issues and we can return the new one.
 

DaveA

David
Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
Nov 16, 1999
Messages
16,650
It could also be the signal from your internet provider that is dropping.
We had similar issues, but it was based on the weather.

One time, it was when the sun warmed up the cable (couple mile away) it would stretch and drop the signal. The cable had been kinked, this caused the drop when warmed up.

Next time, a control box would get water in it and it in turn dropped the signal, as the box warmed up and dried things out the signal came back.

So check with your provider.
 

plodr

Liz
Joined
Jun 27, 2014
Messages
20,641
It's not the modem dropping
I'd think if the signal from the ISP dropped, the modem would also drop.

Another thing you can do: buy an UPS (uninterruptible power supply) and plug the router into it.

My current UPS has 7 protected plugs. I can plug in my modem, router, computer, monitor, printer and even a 2nd computer.
We lost power for 8 hours. I safely turned off the computer, monitor and printer. I was able to run my laptop from the UPS and the laptop's battery for over 3 hours.
 

DaveA

David
Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
Nov 16, 1999
Messages
16,650
I do not know what a Router reboot is other than power off and then on.
But many times people refer to rebooting any time a router goes looking for the lost signal, and does not loose power.

Is OP's router really loosing power and then coming back on, just loosing the signal?
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top