1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Rows Won't Auto Resize in Excel

Discussion in 'Business Applications' started by hydestone, Sep 1, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. hydestone

    hydestone Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2010
    Messages:
    64
    For some reason, the workbook I am using will not automatically adjust the row heights when I double click on the row divider. Any ideas on why this is happening or how to solve it?
     
  2. Sponsor

  3. Keebellah

    Keebellah Hans Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2008
    Messages:
    6,135
    Have you checked if there are formatting codes in the cells? Word wrap?
    It could be that unprintable code like crlf and tab are in the cells
    What I generally do is select the whole sheet, expand column width for one which will take all the cells then doucble click on the deviders, and the same for the rows, then you can see which are wider or higer than the shown text.

    If your sheet is very wide and there are cells out of sight that take more than one line per cell the row height will not change. either.
     
  4. Keebellah

    Keebellah Hans Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2008
    Messages:
    6,135
    I put together a macro demonstrating step-by-step what I mean
     

    Attached Files:

  5. hydestone

    hydestone Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2010
    Messages:
    64
    I cleared all formatting from the cell and still it does not work.

    Basically, there are some cells that contain multiple lines of information. I hit Alt+Enter within the row to create additional lines in the cell. The width needs to be fixed, but I want the row heights to adjust depending on how much information is in the cell. Many rows will have different heights but the columns widths should always remain the same.

    Also, nice job whipping up a quick macro to show me what you mean!
     
  6. Keebellah

    Keebellah Hans Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2008
    Messages:
    6,135
    Alt+Enter is a formatting code, if you want more data in a cell but the column width to remain the same, set the column width to your desired wiidth, make surre that word-wrap is set to true for all the cells and reset the row height.
     
  7. hydestone

    hydestone Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2010
    Messages:
    64
    Great. What if I need there to be a line break within the cell. Do I need to do it manually with spaces? Seems like it may be easier to adjust the rows manually.
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1015503