Roxio Easy CD-CD Copying

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

WebKitten

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 29, 2003
Messages
54
Does anyone use Roxio Easy CD Creator to copy CDs? I was trying to copy a music CD last night and halfway through, I got an error and the recording stopped. I tried it 3 different times, and it kept happening.

Anyone know what the problem could be, or does anyone know of a good copying program?

Thanks.
 
Joined
Jun 27, 2000
Messages
6,832
You could have a copy protected CD – some of the newer audio CDs have copy protection. If you are using a new batch of blanks they might not be working with your recorder.

If the CD is copy protected you would have to use a program like CloneCD and your CD writer would have to be able to defeat the copy protections.

You could update EZCD: http://www.roxio.com/en/support/software_updates.jhtml
 

karbo

Banned
Joined
Sep 2, 2003
Messages
2,239
I remember having the old Adaptec Easy CD Creator (now known as Roxio) a few years ago. I tried burning a RW CD with music to listen on a conventional CD player. It didn't work of course. But Adaptec wasn't informing me that I couldn't do so. The new Roxio must surely advise you.

I don't know what kind of CD you were trying to burn but I think Roxio must be up to date. You should give us more details though.
 

700mb80min

Banned
Joined
Jul 24, 2003
Messages
2,025
Yea karbo you are right . You must have the updates or it won`t burn for you . I played with it also but wouldn`t work , so tried alcohol120 for a quick burn and it worked great. Didn`t bother updating as a format is on-going.
 
Joined
Sep 6, 2003
Messages
261
Ok I musta missed something in the translation. :confused:

I have EZ CD Creator 5 and I just made an exact copy of a brand new cd last night using my LG 16x DRD-8160B DVD & LG GCE 8240b 24x10x40 CD-RW. I just insert the original into the DVD, a blank into the cd-rw & select CD Copier. It recorded a perfect copy that plays in both my home & car cd player.
 

WebKitten

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 29, 2003
Messages
54
What I was trying to copy was a music CD that was already burned off of another music CD. When I got the error, I thought maybe it was because the CD was a copy.

I tried it again with another music CD that I had bought at a store, and I got the error again. I don't understand what's going on because I've used Roxio to copy programs, and it worked great.

Maybe I'll try Alcohol 120. Thanks. :)
 
Joined
Sep 11, 2000
Messages
10,673
Originally posted by WebKitten:
I thought maybe it was because the CD was a copy
It's still ion the digital domain so it shouldn't matter if it's a copy of a copy, however certain cheaper brands might give you trouble (I think they're the light greenish color) because the signal is too weak for the laser to pick up. Usually a good brand like TDK will work 9 out of 10 times unless the equipment is bad.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top