1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

RPC server is unavailable

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by Cr0c0diLe, Jun 8, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Cr0c0diLe

    Cr0c0diLe Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2003
    Messages:
    36
    I'm trying to install drivers for my SoundBlaster Audigy 2 ZS, but when the installation starts a message pops up that says:

    "The InstallShield Engine (iKernel.exe) could not be launched.

    The RPC server is unavailable."

    How can I enable or "make available" the RPC server?
     
  2. abhinav2good

    abhinav2good

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2004
    Messages:
    41
    Set the Remote Procedure Call (RPC) Service to start automatically:

    a. Click Start, Run and type Services.msc and press enter.
    b. On the Service list, click Remote Procedure Call (RPC) Service, and then click Startup.
    c. Under Startup Type, click Automatic, and then click OK.

    That should resolve the problem.
     
  3. Cr0c0diLe

    Cr0c0diLe Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2003
    Messages:
    36
    Already tried that, it's already set to automatic, and the option is greyed out so I can't change it anyway.
     
  4. Outsider

    Outsider

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2003
    Messages:
    131
  5. Cr0c0diLe

    Cr0c0diLe Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2003
    Messages:
    36
    Those didn't help at all. For the first one, there's no "My Computer" in Component Services > Computers, when I click Computers the program closes. And when I try to run the ikernelUpdate.exe, I get the same problem I have when I try to install the SoundBlaster drivers, RPC service is unavailable.
     
  6. Cr0c0diLe

    Cr0c0diLe Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2003
    Messages:
    36
    Still having problems, now I can't install my video card drivers either. Does anyone know any other ways I can fix this?
     
  7. Jtoast

    Jtoast

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2002
    Messages:
    3,362
    Make sure the dcom service is running also
     
  8. Cr0c0diLe

    Cr0c0diLe Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2003
    Messages:
    36
    Thanks, that fixed the problem.
     
  9. Jtoast

    Jtoast

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2002
    Messages:
    3,362
    Glad I was able to help.
     
  10. clearsynergy

    clearsynergy

    Joined:
    Dec 1, 2005
    Messages:
    1
    JToast, thanks a lot. I knew I had a Services problem, but you pinned it down... that pesky Dcom Service needs to be running. (y)
     
  11. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/369617

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice