1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Rtvscan.exe causing high CPU usage, Symantec

Discussion in 'General Security' started by AnyKey, May 13, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. AnyKey

    AnyKey Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2000
    Messages:
    2,109
    Hi all,

    We have a Dell Latitude E6400 with XP running with Symantec Endpoint Protection. Rtvscan.exe is using 50% of the CPU which is slowing things down considerably. I have searched and searched for a solution to this. Reinstalling SEP doesn't resolve the issue either. Anyone else ever seen this and know how to fix it? I'd sure appreciate any input!!:)
     
  2. lunarlander

    lunarlander

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2007
    Messages:
    6,224
  3. Elvandil

    Elvandil

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2003
    Messages:
    51,988
    50% is really not unusual for almost any imaging application. But most have settings for priority that allow setting it to "Below Normal" or "Idle" so as to minimize the effect on other applications. Using differential rather than full backups also reduces the time involved considerably.

    You might try a better imager, like Acronis Backup & Recover or Paragon Drive Backup. I know that for me, anyway, the Acronis runs so quietly that I never know when it runs.

    You could also use another app to control priority if no settings exist within the program, like "Prio" (for XP only), "Process Lasso", or similar.

    If the application has a setting about whether to use volume shadow copies for backups, disabling that option will greatly decrease CPU usage, though it may result in (very minor) compatibility problems if apps change their settings or data during the backup.

    Free system imaging/backup software:

    Macrium Reflect (Free)
    O&O Disk Image Express
    Comodo Time Machine
    Clonezilla Live (A bootable CD of Debian with Clonezilla.)
    Paragon Backup & Recovery
    Drive Image XML
    PING (Partimage is not Ghost)
    Partition Saving
    Clonezilla
     
  4. Phantom010

    Phantom010 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    34,056
    I would run the Norton Removal Tool and forget about Symantec.

    Download the free Microsoft Security Essentials instead.
     
  5. AnyKey

    AnyKey Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2000
    Messages:
    2,109
    I still have not found a resolution for this. The answers above did not help, sorry. Symantec's' forums are awful. Not using SEP is not an option. I think we wound up reimaging the machine, but now have another user with the same exact issue on his Dell.

    This problem is not a result of an "imager" or backup program. SEP is Symantec Endpoint Protection, an anti-virus program used in an Enterprise setting (large big ole company).

    Any second looks would be appreciated.
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/996638