run as keeps appearing problem

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

lightnova

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 6, 2004
Messages
7


hi: so my run as appears every time I open a new program in Windows XP pro. ie. Microsoft Word, but if I opened a old file *******.doc run as doesn't appear. This start occuring after a blue screen of death. So I guessing some thing got corrupted.

Things I tried
I tried system restore (didn't work)
I tried disabling run as completely, that just led to me not being able to open the files.
Searching the web for solutions. Some people had the same problem, but no solutions were posted.

Thxs
 
Joined
Mar 8, 2004
Messages
2,326
Try this:
HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\policies\Explorer

Then create a new DWORD value named "HideRunAsVerb" without quotes, and assign it a value of 1.
 

lightnova

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 6, 2004
Messages
7
thxs,

I have tried that out before. But I tried again since you recommended it. That suggestion you gave I think just disable "Run as"

The result is that I can't open programs such as MS word, but I can still open save documents. What I mean by can't open is that i'll double click and nothing will happen. But upon further inspection I noticed after disabling "run as" if I right click on any program, the first 3 options open, print, edit disappears. Basically they aren't there any more. But if I right click on a save document, those 3 options are still there.

After enabling "run as", to allow me to get online. I notice now that if I right-click, the first option is "run as" not "open". Maybe something happen to
my toolbar, right-click stuff.

Any suggestions or help, thxs.
 
Joined
Aug 1, 2003
Messages
51,988
Download this zip file and unzip it:
http://tinyurl.com/376gh

Double click XP_RunAsShortcutFix.exe to run the utility. This utility re-creates the MayChangeDefaultMenu subkey in:

HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\CLSID\{00021401-0000-0000-C000-000000000046}\shellex
 
Joined
Mar 8, 2004
Messages
2,326
Awesome Elvandil,I'm going to point another one to this post
 

lightnova

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 6, 2004
Messages
7
thxs for the help

what does that file specifically do? can you refer me to some site.
Thanks.
 
Joined
Aug 1, 2003
Messages
51,988
Actually, I already explained it. A registry key was missing, possibly deleted by a registry cleaner, act of God, stray cosmic rays, who knows?

If you look at the key, there will now be a MayChangeDefaultMenu subkey that was not there before. Simple as that, really. :D
 

lightnova

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 6, 2004
Messages
7
elvandil, I really appreciate your help, but the sub-key ur talking about I already have even before running ur .exe.


thxs

and the problem is still around.
 
Joined
Aug 1, 2003
Messages
51,988
OK. Then that was not your problem, I guess. Does your key read (Default): REG_SZ: (value not set) ?

Just as an experiment, try running an app by clicking on the .exe itself instead of a shortcut that leads to it. See if you still get the "Run As..." box. In the properties of the shortcut, click Find Target to go directly to the executable. This will help us determine if it is a shortcut problem.
 
Joined
Mar 8, 2004
Messages
2,326
Have you tried logging on as an administrator,maybe you need to give administrative access to your user account.
 

lightnova

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 6, 2004
Messages
7
i have administrative rights.

The key does match what ur saying, also i check with a friend's registry key, it's the same.

Also it's not a shortcut problem, goes back to the .exe itself. It seems to only effect .exe files only. Everything other extensions seems to open fine.

thxs
 

lightnova

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 6, 2004
Messages
7
problem solved. thxs a lot. seems like in the exefile subkey the open subkey was completely missing.

thanks everyone
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top