1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

run as keeps appearing problem

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by lightnova, Apr 6, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. lightnova

    lightnova Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2004
    Messages:
    7
    [​IMG]

    hi: so my run as appears every time I open a new program in Windows XP pro. ie. Microsoft Word, but if I opened a old file dumbass.doc run as doesn't appear. This start occuring after a blue screen of death. So I guessing some thing got corrupted.

    Things I tried
    I tried system restore (didn't work)
    I tried disabling run as completely, that just led to me not being able to open the files.
    Searching the web for solutions. Some people had the same problem, but no solutions were posted.

    Thxs
     
  2. rude

    rude

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2004
    Messages:
    2,326
    Try this:
    HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\policies\Explorer

    Then create a new DWORD value named "HideRunAsVerb" without quotes, and assign it a value of 1.
     
  3. lightnova

    lightnova Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2004
    Messages:
    7
    thxs,

    I have tried that out before. But I tried again since you recommended it. That suggestion you gave I think just disable "Run as"

    The result is that I can't open programs such as MS word, but I can still open save documents. What I mean by can't open is that i'll double click and nothing will happen. But upon further inspection I noticed after disabling "run as" if I right click on any program, the first 3 options open, print, edit disappears. Basically they aren't there any more. But if I right click on a save document, those 3 options are still there.

    After enabling "run as", to allow me to get online. I notice now that if I right-click, the first option is "run as" not "open". Maybe something happen to
    my toolbar, right-click stuff.

    Any suggestions or help, thxs.
     
  4. Elvandil

    Elvandil

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2003
    Messages:
    51,988
    Download this zip file and unzip it:
    http://tinyurl.com/376gh

    Double click XP_RunAsShortcutFix.exe to run the utility. This utility re-creates the MayChangeDefaultMenu subkey in:

    HKEY_CLASSES_ROOT\CLSID\{00021401-0000-0000-C000-000000000046}\shellex
     
  5. rude

    rude

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2004
    Messages:
    2,326
    Awesome Elvandil,I'm going to point another one to this post
     
  6. lightnova

    lightnova Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2004
    Messages:
    7
    thxs for the help

    what does that file specifically do? can you refer me to some site.
    Thanks.
     
  7. Elvandil

    Elvandil

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2003
    Messages:
    51,988
    Actually, I already explained it. A registry key was missing, possibly deleted by a registry cleaner, act of God, stray cosmic rays, who knows?

    If you look at the key, there will now be a MayChangeDefaultMenu subkey that was not there before. Simple as that, really. :D
     
  8. lightnova

    lightnova Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2004
    Messages:
    7
    elvandil, I really appreciate your help, but the sub-key ur talking about I already have even before running ur .exe.


    thxs

    and the problem is still around.
     
  9. Elvandil

    Elvandil

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2003
    Messages:
    51,988
    OK. Then that was not your problem, I guess. Does your key read (Default): REG_SZ: (value not set) ?

    Just as an experiment, try running an app by clicking on the .exe itself instead of a shortcut that leads to it. See if you still get the "Run As..." box. In the properties of the shortcut, click Find Target to go directly to the executable. This will help us determine if it is a shortcut problem.
     
  10. rude

    rude

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2004
    Messages:
    2,326
    Have you tried logging on as an administrator,maybe you need to give administrative access to your user account.
     
  11. lightnova

    lightnova Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2004
    Messages:
    7
    i have administrative rights.

    The key does match what ur saying, also i check with a friend's registry key, it's the same.

    Also it's not a shortcut problem, goes back to the .exe itself. It seems to only effect .exe files only. Everything other extensions seems to open fine.

    thxs
     
  12. Elvandil

    Elvandil

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2003
    Messages:
    51,988
    This looks to be a security issue and this may be too simplistic, but why not try repairing the .exe file association with this:
    http://www.dougknox.com/xp/fileassoc/xp_exe_fix.zip

    Possibly there is an added reg key that the fix would remove by repairing the association.
     
  13. lightnova

    lightnova Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2004
    Messages:
    7
    problem solved. thxs a lot. seems like in the exefile subkey the open subkey was completely missing.

    thanks everyone
     
  14. Elvandil

    Elvandil

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2003
    Messages:
    51,988
    Sometimes it's the simplest things. Thanks for the feedback.
     
  15. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/217878

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice