1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Run command parameter

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by Chaos_lord, Oct 9, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Chaos_lord

    Chaos_lord Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    Messages:
    55
    I'm going directly to the example since it's easier to explain. In Windows XP Professional start>run and then type for example "ping 212.36.16.162" (without quotes). So the Run command starts the Command prompt shell, executes the Ping command and then immediately closes the Command prompt so I can't see the results. Is there any switch that I can add after the "ping 212.36.16.162" command so that the command prompt window remain open until I close it manually?
     
  2. Triple6

    Triple6 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    52,847
    First Name:
    Rob
    Why not type CMD at the RUN window, then you can go into a DOS box and run commands.
     
  3. Chaos_lord

    Chaos_lord Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    Messages:
    55
    well, yes, but I always start typing the command automatically and in the moment I remember that I should've typed "cmd" to open then Command Prompt, i've already hit the Enter and... you know the rest.
     
  4. Squashman

    Squashman Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2003
    Messages:
    19,783
    start > run > cmd /k ping 212.36.16.162

    or

    start > run > ping -t 212.36.16.162
     
  5. Chaos_lord

    Chaos_lord Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    Messages:
    55
    But hese switches only refer to the ping command... I can't use them with other commands like tracert for example. I'm looking for something like the /page switch in the F-Prot DOS interface...
     
  6. Squashman

    Squashman Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2003
    Messages:
    19,783
    What do you mean it dont work with tracert. Substitute ping with tracert....works just fine.
     
  7. bassetman

    bassetman Moderator (deceased) - Gone but never forgotten

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2001
    Messages:
    47,973
    What does the -t option stand for?
     
  8. Squashman

    Squashman Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2003
    Messages:
    19,783
    open up a command prompt and type:

    ping /?

    There is help for just about every command you type at the command line. Even for CMD

    cmd /?

    cmd /k programname - is how you keep the window open.
     
  9. bassetman

    bassetman Moderator (deceased) - Gone but never forgotten

    Joined:
    Jun 7, 2001
    Messages:
    47,973
    Thanks

    On my Win98 I need to use the command, rather than cmd, but it works well! :)
     
  10. Chaos_lord

    Chaos_lord Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    Messages:
    55
    well... yes, it's just that you have to type again "cmd" and this is actually manual starting of the Comamnd Promt, but guess there is no other way?
     
  11. Squashman

    Squashman Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2003
    Messages:
    19,783
    That would be correct.
     
  12. Chaos_lord

    Chaos_lord Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2003
    Messages:
    55
    Ok, thank you then :)
     
  13. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/170818

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice