1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Run Outlook Macro For Received Emails.

Discussion in 'Business Applications' started by geek123, Dec 7, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. geek123

geek123 Thread Starter

Hello,

I need to come up with an outlook macro using vbscript that runs whenever a new email meeting certain criteria is received.
    Then after I want to update an excel sheet with some part of the data of the email received.
    For example :-

1.A new Email with subject as "EXAMPLE".
    2.Outlook then should run this vbscript macro so as to update that excel sheet with some part of the content of the email.
    As I am a beginner not having enough knowledge on vbscript please help me out on this one.

Thanka a lot in advance any help appreciated. :)

2. geek123

geek123 Thread Starter

Can anyone please let me know about this

3. Rollin_Again

Rollin_Again

What version of Outlook are you using? FYI.....The newer versions of Outlook (2003+) already have functionality built in that allow you to set up a mail rule that will fire a macro. In order to help more I would need to see a sample email.

Rollin

4. geek123

geek123 Thread Starter

Hey Rollin thanks for the reply. I am using Outlook 2007.

Due to security restrictions I cannot attach a sample email too.But i will just tell you the process.
    1.An email is received with the subject as "SAMPLE SUBJECT".
    2.Now as soon as such an email is received based on its subject it should send subject and body to the excel sheet with subject in one row and body in another.
    Thats it.Everytime this same process should happen for the subject mentioned.

Thanks in advance.

5. Rollin_Again

Rollin_Again