1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

run-time error '75' path/file access error

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by joxbawanak, Mar 28, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. joxbawanak

    joxbawanak Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2015
    Messages:
    5
    Hi from Scotland. I get the above error as soon as I try to install a program called Carsoft,which is a car diagnostic program. I have a freshly installed copy of XP on an IBM Thinkpad, there are no other programs installed on the hard drive. I have tried right clicking and choosing"run as administrator" but get the same result, had a good look around the net but can't find anything exactly the same as my problem. I have used sysinfo and posted the results below. I have no antivirus as I will not be using it online at any time. Thanks for your time.


    Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.2
    OS Version: Microsoft Windows XP Professional, Service Pack 2, 32 bit
    Processor: Intel Pentium III processor, x86 Family 6 Model 8 Stepping 10
    Processor Count: 1
    RAM: 127 Mb
    Graphics Card: ATI RAGE Mobility (IBM), 4 Mb
    Hard Drives: C: Total - 19077 MB, Free - 16176 MB;
    Motherboard: IBM, 266265G
    Antivirus: None
     
  2. plodr

    plodr

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2014
    Messages:
    19,164
    First Name:
    Liz
    What version of Carsoft? (I need to see the system requirements)

    Whoa
    that is extremely small.
     
  3. joxbawanak

    joxbawanak Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2015
    Messages:
    5
    Hi plodr it is version 7.4 for Mercedes benz, the software was used previously by the former laptop/carsoft owner, thanks for your reply.
     
  4. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    80,752
    First Name:
    Frank
    That appears to be an IBM ThinkPad X20 2662 12.1" laptop that originally came with Windows 98 Second Edition and came with these specs:

    Intel Pentium III 600 MHz processor

    128 MB of PC100 RAM (supports a maximum of 320 MB)

    20 GB hard drive

    ----------------------------------------------------------------

    That old laptop isn't even capable of running Windows XP properly, let alone running expensive CARSOFT software in it.

    ----------------------------------------------------------------
     
  5. joxbawanak

    joxbawanak Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2015
    Messages:
    5
    It did have win 2000 on it, however that was giving the same type run error, I had thought putting XP on may have got rid of the fault, the XP compatibility test I tried before hand did not throw up any reason not too install it. Thanks.
     
  6. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    80,752
    First Name:
    Frank
    Even if you were max it out with 320 MB of PC100 RAM, its Intel Pentium III 600 MHz processor and 100 MHz frontside bus speed would run Windows XP like a snail.

    You really need to retire it to "computer heaven". :eek:

    ---------------------------------------------------------
     
  7. joxbawanak

    joxbawanak Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2015
    Messages:
    5
    Would it give the run error that I am getting though?
     
  8. flavallee

    flavallee Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    80,752
    First Name:
    Frank
    I'm not familiar with CARSOFT, so I have no idea. :confused:

    -----------------------------------------------------------
     
  9. SilverSurf

    SilverSurf

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2010
    Messages:
    664
    Hello All

    Regards SilverSurf
     
  10. plodr

    plodr

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2014
    Messages:
    19,164
    First Name:
    Liz
    I downloaded a 22 page pdf trying to find computer requirements. Unfortunately the directions talked about coping all the files from the CD to the computer and turning off the av program. On page 12 it talks about moving cracks folders to locations. I stopped looking then.

    Found the run time 75 error but it is for Vista and 7
    http://support.examsoft.com/link/po...ror-75-Path-File-access-error-WINDOWS-VISTA-7

    Perhaps you tried to run the software from the CD rather than copying to the computer and tha't why it is complaining about the path.
     
  11. joxbawanak

    joxbawanak Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2015
    Messages:
    5
    Thanks plodr, no I had copied it from the CD to the hard drive, thanks any way for your advice.
     
  12. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - error '75' path
  1. alanh01
    Replies:
    2
    Views:
    382
  2. thp83
    Replies:
    9
    Views:
    756
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1145612

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice