run32dll.exe problem

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

peter pan 15

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 15, 2003
Messages
5
hi

my name is peter , i am 15 and that is my first pc.

i have a problem - may be it will be so easy for you as experts to solve , so please be patient with me.


my operating system is windows xp home edition.

my prolem is :

when i click the right botton > properties to change the background picture i have a message titeld by :

Run a DLL as an App and a message if i want to send a report to microsoft for this trouble.

inside the tech report i found that there is a problem with the
run32dll.exe
AppVEr : 5.1.2600.0
Modname :mshtml.dll
MovVer :6.02800.1106
offest : vola 0347

i want to know how to solve this problem.

i hope that the steps are not very complicated for me as a beginner.


thank you very much for your help.
 
Joined
Feb 23, 2003
Messages
16,274
Did this just happen ? Did you recently have any virus or delete anything ?
 

peter pan 15

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 15, 2003
Messages
5
yes i had that w32 worm and another virus - torjan horse - or something like that .

i scaned my computer and it is clean and also i used spaybot.

my computer is as i think is clean now.


what is the reason of this problem and how to solve it and how to avoid it to happen again ?


thank you.
 
Joined
Feb 23, 2003
Messages
16,274
Something you can try first wound be either a system restore to the nearest date before the troubles began or insert the xp cd in the cdrom drive and click start/ run and type sfc /scannow to attempt at replacing any lost or damaged files.


The first option should be the first attempted as the second can wipe out your critical updates.
 

peter pan 15

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 15, 2003
Messages
5
i tried the second option.

i inserted th cd , wrote the command .

then i restarted my computer once again .

the message still appear.
 
Joined
Feb 23, 2003
Messages
16,274
Did sfc /scannow do anything ? Did it show some sort of process taking place ?
 

peter pan 15

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 15, 2003
Messages
5
i copied and past the command you wrote .

i inserted the cd.

i had this message :

windows file protection

please wait while windows verifies that all protected windows file are in act and in their original version.

then the blue bar start until the end.

i didn't see any message that there is a replaced files.

nothing .

i thought that the windows will restart but it didn't so
i restarted the computer but i get the cd out first.

the message still there .

that is what i did exactly.
 
Joined
Jan 2, 1999
Messages
25
If you had a virus and restore your system to a time when you had the virus you could reinfect your computer (virus scanners do not have access to system restore files so they stay infected). If you do a system restore, you should probably scan for viruses immediately after.
 

peter pan 15

Thread Starter
Joined
Sep 15, 2003
Messages
5
i don't have a restore point

i see that you all indicate that the reason is a virus.

do you think that it could happen a cause of any thing else ?
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top