runner error-invalid backweb app. ID

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

kgolfs

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 25, 2001
Messages
44
I get this box when XP loads--Runner Error, invalid
backweb application ID 7288971. What is this and how do I
fix it? I have win XP Pro

I got this answer fr. someone but looked at my startup and didn't find anything suspicious unless it's hpgs2wnd.exe. Any suggestions?

answer-
Weird problem! I found this by doing a Google search: From Annoyances.org

This is an auto-update facility used by various parties - including Compaq, HP, McAfee at one time, and I am sure many others. The home web site is http://www.backweb.com/.

It often does not appear in add/remove programmes, and may only be uninstallable
by re-running setup for the programme that installed it.

The easiest way to deal with this little problem is, to go to 'Start'>Run and type
in: 'msconfig'. Here you will find a tab saying 'Startup'. Find the offending application,
untick it, press 'apply', 'OK' and restart like requested. This is about the only
way I can help you over long distance, but I am certain it will stop the error message
as the program will no longer run at startup.
 

TonyKlein

Malware Specialist
Joined
Aug 26, 2001
Messages
10,392
Please do this:

Go to Start/run, and type Msinfo32, followed by OK.
Go to Software Environment/Startup Programs.
Click Edit/'Select all', and then 'copy'
Now paste the contents here.


That ought to help us find the culprit.
 

kgolfs

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 25, 2001
Messages
44
Toni-thanks for responding. I found that a Kodak program was the cause of this error. I removed the program and the problem vanished. Don't know why it became corrupt but that's moot at this point. I'll keep you fellows in mind for my next problem. You are quick to respond.
Karen:)
 

TonyKlein

Malware Specialist
Joined
Aug 26, 2001
Messages
10,392
You're welcome! :)

It often is the Kodak Software Updater.

Cheers,
 
Joined
Jan 28, 2003
Messages
1
Hi,
Ive had exactly the same problem as above. It seems that this is also used by the dreded Kazzaa and doesnt uninstall with it. Once i managed to disable it and delete the file that it uses (which it puts in Ur temp folder - Win 2k) I get the same pop-up error as above. After deleting it from startup and all regisrty entries for that file it still pops up with the same message and puts it back in my startup list,
Any advice you have would be great,
(and id prefer not to have to reinstall it!)
p1pster
 

TonyKlein

Malware Specialist
Joined
Aug 26, 2001
Messages
10,392
It doesn't come with Kazaa.

The Backweb application is installed with HP, Compaq, Logitech, and Kodak software, among others.

Please post your startup programs the way I described before.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top