1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Running a game

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by Thegamer, Mar 13, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Thegamer

    Thegamer Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2013
    Messages:
    68
    Hi


    I've just bought star was knights of the old republic 2 (bit of a kotor fan) and my pc is only 1 year old so it PLENTY powerful to play the game but when I run it, it gets about 10 seconds into the intro for the game and pops up the annoying "not responding" message and closes the game. But the games is running perfectly in the backround its just windows bloody 7 refuses to acknowledge it!


    My laptop is an i3 4gb ddr3 ram (Yes I know not gaming platform by far but it should be able to play a game 11 years old!) I have tried running in compatibility mode but its made no difference- please help I don't want my purchase to go to waste!


    Any ideas id be very grateful
     
  2. SM4SH

    SM4SH

    Joined:
    Aug 24, 2013
    Messages:
    198
  3. Thegamer

    Thegamer Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2013
    Messages:
    68
    Yes it says its no capable but when you read the break down it exceeds EVERY requirement the website looks for- which is why I don't use it much it doesn't make sense to me- only the os is unrecognised as its w7 not what its designed for- anyhow my older laptop can run it so I don't understand why this one refuses to- next suggestion pls
     
  4. Thegamer

    Thegamer Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2013
    Messages:
    68
    here is the print screens for the results it just doesn't make sense my pc seems to exceed all the requirements
     

    Attached Files:

    • 1.jpg
      1.jpg
      File size:
      143.9 KB
      Views:
      17
    • 2.jpg
      2.jpg
      File size:
      144.7 KB
      Views:
      18
  5. Crazy10

    Crazy10

    Joined:
    May 12, 2012
    Messages:
    600
  6. Thegamer

    Thegamer Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2013
    Messages:
    68
    Sadly even that doesn't fix the problem I get as far as the intro- long ago in a galaxy far...etc
     
  7. Blu_86

    Blu_86

    Joined:
    Aug 8, 2014
    Messages:
    276
    Intel HD 3000 isn't going to play some games correctly usually because of direct draw issues. It's an Intel GPU thing. If you want to game with no issues even a cheap desktop will be far better. Something like an FX 4100 with a 960g motherboard and a cheap GTX 650, etc.
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1144718

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice