1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

running scandisk

Discussion in 'Earlier Versions of Windows' started by tatanastar, Feb 9, 2005.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. tatanastar

tatanastar Thread Starter

I am new to PC's and inherited a Gateway desktop with Windows 98. Kept receiving error message at startup about an incorrect longfilename. I have tried to run scandisk but it has been scanning since Sat 2/5/05 and has only gone through 180,000 bits of data from a total of 2.444.532 data bits. At this rate I will not be done scanning untul 2006!
    Is there anything i can do?

2. flavallee

flavallee Trusted Advisor

First Name:
    Frank
    Restart your computer in "safe mode" and run Scandisk from there.

You should post the exact text of the error message that you're receiving.

3. blues_harp28

blues_harp28 Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

Restart computer,press F8 on keyboard which will take you into safe mode,you can scan disk there,defrag and other maintenance,

4. tatanastar

tatanastar Thread Starter

thanks I'll try that. wish me luck.

5. Maritimesea

Maritimesea