running scandisk

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

tatanastar

I am new to PC's and inherited a Gateway desktop with Windows 98. Kept receiving error message at startup about an incorrect longfilename. I have tried to run scandisk but it has been scanning since Sat 2/5/05 and has only gone through 180,000 bits of data from a total of 2.444.532 data bits. At this rate I will not be done scanning untul 2006!
Is there anything i can do?

flavallee

Frank
Trusted Advisor
Restart your computer in "safe mode" and run Scandisk from there.

You should post the exact text of the error message that you're receiving.

blues_harp28

Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Restart computer,press F8 on keyboard which will take you into safe mode,you can scan disk there,defrag and other maintenance,