1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Running scripts?

Discussion in 'Earlier Versions of Windows' started by rolo12, Nov 10, 2001.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. rolo12

    rolo12 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2001
    Messages:
    5
    I have set scripts to "Prompt" on my Windows 98 SE system., per a security alert. Now I can't view any web pages without being prompted numerous times. How can I surf the web and still be secure?
     
  2. Bryan

    Bryan

    Joined:
    Jul 3, 1999
    Messages:
    11,943
    First Name:
    Bryan
    Personally I'd suggest you just reenable scripting, install a good up-to-date anti virus program, be sure you keep the Windows install updated with the most recent security patches by visiting the <a href=http://windowsupdate.microsoft.com>Windows Update Site</a> regularly and use common sense when browsing.

    Disable "Install on Demand" in IE. Start>Settings>ControlPanel>InternetOptions>Advanced. Uncheck "Enable Install on Demand" and click on Apply.

    And then install a firewall. The free version of <a href=http://www.zonealarm.com> ZoneAlarm</a> is a good choice.
     
  3. TonyKlein

    TonyKlein Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2001
    Messages:
    10,392
    I like Norton Internet Security. It allows you to set ActiveX and Java to prompt, but it also allows you to make exceptions for any specific site you desire.
    This means you can choose to allways block scripts from certain sites, but to always allow them from trusted sites of your choice, which makes surfing the net a much more pleasurable experience.

    Greetz,
     
  4. rolo12

    rolo12 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2001
    Messages:
    5
    I have McAfee Clinic, which I update daily and Zone Alarm Pro installed.

    My mind's a blank though as to how I reenable scripting. I know it's simple , but just forgot.
     
  5. TonyKlein

    TonyKlein Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Aug 26, 2001
    Messages:
    10,392
    Internet Options/security/settings/scripting

    Greetz,
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - Running scripts
  1. 3dmama
    Replies:
    14
    Views:
    1,268
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/58144

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice