1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Running Windows on a MAC

Discussion in 'Apple Mac' started by imnotbasiciswear, Jul 29, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. imnotbasiciswear

imnotbasiciswear Thread Starter

I was told I could run Windows programs on my mac, I have a Mac 10.42 and I think it is a Tiger. I am new to macs, and I don't understand much...if anyone has any advice please share...

My main problem is that my younger sister reaally wants to play the Sims2 and we have it for PC, I checked on Aspyr and it said that my mac had all the requirements to play the sims2 on it, but I cannot figure out for the life of me how to do it.

At one point a long time ago I attempted to restart my mac in windows and I did something when I first turned on my mac to start it in windows. But it asked me something and I wasn't sure what to answer so I just aborted the whole thing.

2. VegasACF

VegasACF

If you have an Intel-based Macintosh you need to get BootCamp from Apple so you can install and run Windows XP on your Mac. You will also need to have a copy of Windows XP that you can install on the partition that BootCamp creates.

If you do not have an Intel-based Mac your only option is to purchase Virtual PC from Microsoft and run Windows in emulation from within the Mac OS. You'll also need a copy of Windows XP to install. If this is the case you can pretty much kiss any kind of game performance goodbye.

Windows cannot, under any circumstances, be used to boot up a non-Intel-based Macintosh computer. Think of Windows like diesel fuel and a non-Intel-based Mac like a gasoline-burning engine. The two do not mix.