1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Running Windows XP unable to connect to wireless network unable to connect due to ip address

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by cathyhuha, Aug 29, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. cathyhuha

    cathyhuha Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    computer was online and then lost connection.
     
  2. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,628
    First Name:
    Wayne
    you will need to provide a lot more information
    Make and model of the PC
    What you mean by "due to IP address"
    Any other devices connected
    Make and model of the Router

    can you connect by a cable to the router - and if so does it work
     
  3. cathyhuha

    cathyhuha Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    Dell insprion mini 10 , no url ip address, Router is Arris TG8626/CT no other devices connected.
    Cathy
     
  4. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,628
    First Name:
    Wayne
    sorry i'm still not sure what you mean
    definitions below

    Lets start with an ipconfig /all
    ipconfig /all

    We would like to see the results from an ipconfig /all - post back the results in a reply here.

    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post the results in a reply here.
    Save the file to a USB flash drive or other removable media. Plug it into the working computer with internet access and copy the file and paste here.

    If you do not have another PC - do you have a phone connected to the internet - can you photograph the result and post the image in a reply
    Note: you will see entries named Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface: we dont need to see that information - JUST the information above those entries

    For Windows 8 or Windows 10
    To open a Cmd Prompt or an Administrator Cmd prompt from the Desktop.
    http://www.bleepingcomputer.com/tutorials/open-an-elevated-command-prompt-in-windows-8/
    Use Win + X and choose Command Prompt or Command Prompt (Admin) from the list.​

    For windows version, XP, Vista, W7
    Hold the Windows key and press R

    Now type CMD

    Now press Enter to open a command prompt box (A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on screen ):​

    In the command prompt window that opens, type the following command:

    Note that there is a space before the /ALL, but there is NOT a space after the / in the following command.

    ipconfig /all > network.txt & network.txt

    It will export the results into notepad and then automatically open the notepad and display on your screen.

    Now all you need to do is copy and paste those results into a reply here
    to do that:
    From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Select all
    all the text will now be highlighted
    Next
    From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Copy

    Now go back to the forum - goto the reply and then right click in the reply box and paste the results.
    The results from the notepad should now appear in the forum reply.
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------

    I dont quite see how thats related to an IP Address
     
  5. cathyhuha

    cathyhuha Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    I will get back to you on that . P083115_2050.jpg
     
  6. cathyhuha

    cathyhuha Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    if you can not make this out let me know.
     
  7. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,628
    First Name:
    Wayne
    Thats fine thanks

    An IP adress of 169.254.x.x is the autoconfiguration address that Windows assigns (Microsoft APIPA) is a DHCP failover mechanism, when it cannot find a dhcp service, so something is either blocking access or is not running

    can you connect to the router with a cable and see if that works

    What firewall / security suite or anti-virus do you currently have on the PC - or you have ever had on the PC in the past - any trial ware - like Norton, kaspersky or Mcafee or any free security suites like zonealarm, AVG , Webroot etc

    do a tcp/ip reset
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------

    TCP/IP stack repair options for use with Windows XP with SP2/SP3

    Start, Run, CMD to open a command prompt box
    (A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on the screen ):

    In the command prompt window that opens, type the following commands:

    Note: Type only the text in bold and red for the following commands.

    Reset TCP/IP stack to installation defaults, type: netsh int ip reset reset.log and press enter

    Reset WINSOCK entries to installation defaults, type: netsh winsock reset catalog and press enter

    ReStart (reboot) the machine.

    Please note and post back - if you receive the following message :-
    Access is Denied

    please post back the results in a reply here - its important we know that these commands have worked correctly and not produced any errors
    right click in the command prompt box
    select all
    enter
    control key + C key - to copy
    then reply here and
    control key + V to paste

    Details also here
    http://support.microsoft.com/kb/299357
    also the link has a Microsoft Fix it p/color], which will do the above for you

    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  8. cathyhuha

    cathyhuha Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2010
    Messages:
    5
    this did not work .. I will run again tomorrow . I have to photo shoot the results and send to you
     
  9. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    64,628
    First Name:
    Wayne
    What firewall / security suite or anti-virus do you currently have on the PC - or you have ever had on the PC in the past - any trial ware - like Norton, kaspersky or Mcafee or any free security suites like zonealarm, AVG , Webroot etc
     
  10. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1154821

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice