1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Runtime Error Re-post

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by Lindee, Jan 29, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Lindee

    Lindee Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2002
    Messages:
    324
    I am having a little trouble in getting someone to answer my post, so I am reposting it.

    I am still getting a "runtime error" I downlkoaded WinXP patch, I thought it helped, but it didn't. I would appreciate any help you can give.

    Thanks,




    Dell
    Pent 4
    2.0 GhZ
    512 MB RAM
    Win XP Home
    NEC CD-RW NR 9100A
    Samsung DVD ROM SD616T
    NVIDIA 64 MB DDR GeForces Ti200 Dell
    IDEATA/ATAPI Controllers
    Intel 82801BA Bus Master IDE controller
    Logitech USB Mouseman wheel
    Conexant itsf V92 56k RTAD speakerphone PCI modem
    CNET Pro 200 WL PCI fast ethernet adapter
    Santa Cruz sound
    Legacy devices and drivers
    Video codecs
     
  2. SexyTech

    SexyTech

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2002
    Messages:
    8,460
    and just WHAT is the runtime error?


    If you want assistance, you need to be more specific with runtime errors!


    Also, bumping the original post rather than creating duplicates would be alot better!


    Peace!

    ST
     
  3. Lindee

    Lindee Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2002
    Messages:
    324
    I am not sure what you mean by "bumping" Here is my original post:

    Originally posted by Lindee:
    I have been getting the following Runtime Error quite frequently:

    Window pops up with - Microsodt Visual C- Runtime Library
    abnormal program termination
    ProgramC:\ProgramFiles\MicrosoftOffice\Office10\WINWORD.EXE

    It appears when I open attachements, try to log off etc. I close all programs, but it still insists there is something open that needs closing??? Any help would be appreciated. Thanks

    Dell
    Pent 4
    2.0 GhZ
    512 MB RAM
    Win XP Home
    NEC CD-RW NR 9100A
    Samsung DVD ROM SD616T
    NVIDIA 64 MB DDR GeForces Ti200 Dell
    IDEATA/ATAPI Controllers
    Intel 82801BA Bus Master IDE controller
    Logitech USB Mouseman wheel
    Conexant itsf V92 56k RTAD speakerphone PCI modem
    CNET Pro 200 WL PCI fast ethernet adapter
    Santa Cruz sound
    Legacy devices and drivers
    Video codecs
     
  4. The_Egg

    The_Egg

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2002
    Messages:
    1,157
    The most common cause of Runtime Errors are viruses.

    What e-mail attachments are you opening?
    Are they from a known and valid source?
    What file formats are these?
    Do you have any Anti-Virus software installed?
    We've just been having a discussion about this here ;)

    I'm also quite surprised that none of the regular guys here have advised you to run Ad-Aware, Spybot Search and Destroy, and StartUp List yet. I expect someone to be along quite soon with the url's and instructions.

    It would seem that the program affected is MS Word.
    Something is corrupt in either the registry or within the program files themselves.
    This is quite common with (macro type?) viruses which infect templates and Visual Basic components in MS Office apps.


    ps. btw, bumping means making a new post in the original thread, so as to move it back to the top of the forum . . . as opposed to starting a new thread on the same subject. :)
     
  5. Lindee

    Lindee Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2002
    Messages:
    324
    I am running Norton anti virus. The runtime error usually occurs when I have had a word document open that I have been working on for quite a while and when I go to close I get the error. I get it other times too. I don't rememeber getting the error during Outlook when there are attachments. What steps do I need to take now? You mentioned: "Ad-Aware, Spybot Search and Destroy, and StartUp List " Thanks for responding.
     
  6. The_Egg

    The_Egg

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2002
    Messages:
    1,157
    Ok, seeing none of the regular guys here have stepped in, I'll try my best to help.

    Is Norton up-to-date with the latest virus definitions?
    Did you run a full scan (to scan all files on your comp)

    Just to fully confirm that this isn't another case of Norton failing to detect new viruses, go to that thread I linked to in my first reply and run one or more of the free online virus scans listed. Trend-Micro's housecall is a good place to start.

    If no viruses are found, then we'll need some more information.

    Is there a code for this Runtime Error?
    Most Runtime Errors have a number associated with them, eg.
    429, R6025, 216, etc
    This will help us to properly diagnose the symptoms/cause/cure.

    I've also looked at your original thread:
    http://forums.techguy.org/t115655/s.html

    and the only thing of note I found in there was someone posted a link to another forum where someone else was experiencing a similar problem to you. I noticed that this person had two versions of MS Word installed, MS Word 98 and MS Word 2000.
    Do you only have one version installed? Or do you still have any components installed from an older version of MS Office?

    You might also want to visit the MS Office Update / Support site to see if there's any patches or service packs available.

    http://office.microsoft.com/

    I still use Office 2000 . . . ummm, is Office 10 the same as OfficeXP ?
     
  7. Lindee

    Lindee Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2002
    Messages:
    324
    The Egg: Sorry it has taken so long to get back to you, but have a little info for you:

    I do not get a code for the error, it is as I posted earlier. It appears that there is the following:
    Microsoft Word 2002
    Works 6.0
    Works Suite add in for Microsoft Word
    Office XP Professional

    I assume I should delete most of those and just keep the XP Pro

    The only anti-virus I have is Norton. It is up to date and it checks for viruses everytime an attachment comes in or goes out. you mentioned if I checked viruses in "all files" If I try and do this, it asks me which files I want to open???? Do I need to open each file??? I guess I am a little unclear on this one. I thought I was doing a complete scan.

    It appears the error will appear if I have had Word open for extended. Sometimes in email. I use Microsoft Outlook.

    Dell
    Pent 4
    2.0 GhZ
    512 MB RAM
    Win XP Home
    NEC CD-RW NR 9100A
    Samsung DVD ROM SD616T
    NVIDIA 64 MB DDR GeForces Ti200 Dell
    IDEATA/ATAPI Controllers
    Intel 82801BA Bus Master IDE controller
    Logitech USB Mouseman wheel
    Conexant itsf V92 56k RTAD speakerphone PCI modem
    CNET Pro 200 WL PCI fast ethernet adapter
    Santa Cruz sound
    Legacy devices and drivers
    Video codecsperiods of time.
     
  8. The_Egg

    The_Egg

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2002
    Messages:
    1,157
  9. Lindee

    Lindee Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2002
    Messages:
    324
    The_Egg:

    I have tried to do as the instructions mention, to rename the"Word Normal. dot Global Template" but, didn't get very far. I went to START, ALL PROGRAMS, MICROSOFT OFFICE TOOLS. It then says to pont to "Word 2002 support tools" That isn't there and I stopped there. Now what?? I have Win XP

    This is what is listed under Microsoft office tools:

    Activate product
    Microsoft Access snapshot viewer
    Microsoft Clip organizer
    Micorosft Office application recovery
    Microsoft Office document imaging
    Microsoft office document scanning
    Microsoft Office XP language setting
    Saave my settings wizard
     
  10. Lindee

    Lindee Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2002
    Messages:
    324
    It has been weeks and haven't received a response to my last post. Could someone please help.

    Thanks
     
  11. The_Egg

    The_Egg

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2002
    Messages:
    1,157
    Hi

    Did you follow the instructions in that link I posted to disable the Norton Office plugin? (method 3)

    Try ^this^ first.

    If the problem persists, then you still need to rename normal.dot
    The instructions are clearly marked out in the link I provided.

    You said "Word 2002 support tools" isn't listed under "Microsoft Office Tools"

    289506 HOW TO: Install and Use the Support.dot Template in Microsoft Word 2002
     
  12. Lindee

    Lindee Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2002
    Messages:
    324
    I just disabled the "Enable Office Plug-in" box. I will see if this happens. I'm sorry, for some reason, I guess I didn't read your instructions clearly. My fault. You were very clear once I reread it. I'll keep you posted on my results. Thank you
     
  13. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - Runtime Error post
  1. thp83
    Replies:
    9
    Views:
    599
  2. ehbowen
    Replies:
    7
    Views:
    769
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/115979

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice