S/C not playing MIDIs...

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

WebGnome

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 27, 2003
Messages
4
I reformated my HD and reinstalled everything, (including my S/C), but now my computer won't play MIDI files (or at least I can't hear them)
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2002
Messages
69
what programme are you using to play midi files? is it still set to play midi after you re-installed?
 

WebGnome

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 27, 2003
Messages
4
I am not sure what you mean by "set to play midi", but I've tryed to play using win-media and a composing program that I downloaded (you write the notes, it plays them for you).
could you elaborate on what "set" means...
 
Joined
Dec 31, 2002
Messages
69
Hi Gnome. i meant are the settings or preferences in these programs enabled to play midi files. if you cant play midi with both the programs you have, it sounds like you need to adjust the settings on your sound card.what card do you have?
 
Joined
Jan 26, 2003
Messages
110
My first thought is that maybe you need to upgrade your
codec . I'm looking now to find a page for you to do
an upgrade to codec and will post it later. Hope that's some
help
 

WebGnome

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 27, 2003
Messages
4
I am beginning to understand what a codec is, however, I am a bit lost as to which I should download...

side note: Would downloading an Mpeg III codec improve Mp3 playback?
 
Joined
Jan 26, 2003
Messages
110
Hi, keep your chin up... you will get the right codec.
mp3's have an mp3 codec. the mpeg is basicly for
movies or presentations in video form. Check out
the sight that madDog left and see what you can
find. Funny enough, the codec that I added to make
my wav's work again looked like a german name.
I won't end it here..... I'll go and see if I can find the
specific one also. Take care and keep pluggin , boing
 

dustyjay

Jay
Joined
Jan 23, 2003
Messages
12,661
what kind of sound card do you have? For that matter some specs on your system might be helpful as well. You know OS, mobo, processor, etc.

You may need to open your volume control and check to see if your midi channel is enabled and unmuted for it to work. I know with my old Presario with Win98SE I needed to do that when I did a system restore. Also Creative Soundblaster cards drivers with out the winXP update have the same function.

You may need to open your sounds icon in control panel and put a volume control icon in your systray to get to the volume control panel.
 
M

MadDogMugsy

Can I recommend that you visit the Windows Update site at http://windowsupdate.microsoft.com and run a scan for updates

Without sending info to MS, it will scan your machine and suggest updates to not only the main operating system, but other drivers as well (many manufactuers find this is a good place to get the word out)

... that is how my codecs were updated

cheers
MDM
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top