1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

?'s on Bios Settings & slow response on loading applications!

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by xzjdzg, Feb 5, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. xzjdzg

xzjdzg Thread Starter

Actually, I have 2 questions.

1. I am looking for information on bios settings for the Soyo P4-X400Ultra motherboard. The information can come in the form of an email or the web address of a place that tells me about bios settings for my board. I am not that experienced with the bios settings and the manual does not elibrate on which settings are best. What I would like to know is what are the best settings for my system (shown below)?

2. My second question is actually a problem that I can't seem to figure out. My system has been running well since I built it in Sept. but I have started to notice that applications are taking longer to load. I am not sure if this has been a problem from the beginning since I upgraded from a 800 Mhz and the new system being so much faster just never noticed. I can hit the shortcut to begin an application and it will begin by coming up in chunks...meaning that it loads pieces of the application over several seconds. For instance, the background shows up, then the menu, then the scroll bar, etc.

I have tried defragging, scan disk, Norton SpeedDisk all in an effort to make the HD access faster. One thing that I did notice however is that the S.M.A.R.T. parameter will not stay enabled in the bios. I can set it and when I reboot, it will revert back to disabled. Not sure if this has anything to do with the problem or not.

I would appreciate any and all responses.

Miller

Soyo SY-P4X400 Dragon Ultra mobo
    P4 2.4b Intel chip
    ATI Radeon 9700 Pro
    (2) WD 80 gig, 7200 Rpm, 8mb cache Harddrives