1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

S-Video Nightmares

Discussion in 'Do It Yourself (Not Computer-Related)' started by flexxx77, Sep 28, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. flexxx77

flexxx77 Thread Starter

Alright heres the lowdown, I've had some bad experiences with s-video in the past, i tried hooking up my PC to my TV using the s-video cable that had come with my video card and it showed up on my tv in black and white and horribly skewed. I couldn't really do anything because the image was so flickery and wrecked so thats about as far as I got there. Now I recently bought a laptop and I'm wondering if i hook this sucker's s-video up to my tv would it be any better? Anything I should know before doing it? Oh, by the way, in the previous incident i was talking about it also managed to **** up my monitor on my pc somehow, well i had to reinstall the drivers that is, huge hassel... I'd like to avoid that if possible...

Any tips/help/suggestions are greatly appreciated thanks!

2. flexxx77

flexxx77 Thread Starter

bump really looking for help...

3. cwwozniak

cwwozniak Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

First Name:
    Chuck
    Having no idea in what part of the world you are located, I would suggest you make sure that the S-video output of your computer matches the video standard (NTSC, PAL, SECAM) used by the TV. A mismatch could give you an unstable black and white picture.

4. Tadtheo

Tadtheo

Hi, I had a similar problem with my laptop and tv, I fixed it by using a VGA cord, provided your tv and laptop have the right ports

Hope That Helps

5. buffoon

buffoon

The S-Vido output of your PC is analogue. That says nothing about what TV format it supports. Follow Chuck's advice first and find out