safe mode headache

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

[email protected]

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 24, 2001
Messages
37
hello to all: recently tried loading a cd burner called "roxio" & was told that i had to restart my computor in order for thisd prog to reconfigure the system......... big mistake....... when i rebooted i got the screen that shows a safe mode screen(starting with #1 for normal), after pressing my space bar i was taken to my desktop screen where i am now stuck with "safe mode " showing in all 4 corners of that screen.......... i am using windows m e............ can anyone please tell me how to get my screen and applications back to normal.thanx to all...........
 
Joined
Sep 11, 2000
Messages
10,673
You need to tell us more about your computer and which version of EZ you have installed. It is very normal for a computer to have to be restarted in order for a program to work, so that's not EZ's fault. Let's first find out why you were sent to safe mode. Have you tried to reboot again?
 

[email protected]

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 24, 2001
Messages
37
thanx 4 your quick response, & the ans. is yes, i did try rebooting........... no luck.. still stuck in desktop with safe mode in all 4 corners....... any helpful suggestions??? what is e z ?
 

Byteman

Gone but Never Forgotten
Joined
Jan 24, 2002
Messages
17,742
Hi- Since you mentioned the space bar, are you using GoBack?
You hit the space bar to use GoBack...
Roxio has sold GoBack to Symantec Corp.
 

[email protected]

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 24, 2001
Messages
37
can't honestly tell u what version of roxio i loaded because it was a remade disc by a friend of mine, but i will run scandisc & defrag.......... i really don't want roxio installed anymore i just want to get out of this safe mode screen & get my pc back to normal
 
Joined
Feb 16, 2002
Messages
540
Hi Vnaut,
You just want to get back in windows, since you know Roxio is the last thing you installed it is causing the conflict. While your in safe mode go to the Control Panel and remove it and then uninstall the software driver for it. Double check your "cd rom" in Dvice Manager for any exclamations, if Roxi is one of them, remove it.

:)
 

[email protected]

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 24, 2001
Messages
37
TO STARWAVES 77 & ANYONE ELSE WITH AN ANSWER TO THIS NEW PROB: RESOLVED SAFE MODE PROB, BUT DUE TO THAT PROB I LOST 3 DRIVES(CD, DVD, & ZIP), ANY SUGGESTIONS HOW I CAN GET THEM BACK?????
 

[email protected]

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 24, 2001
Messages
37
the safe mode prob i was having was solved, but in the process 3 of my drives, (m- cd drive , n- dvd drive, & my zip drive) were lost. can anyone tell me how i can get them back........ much appreciated............
 

Byteman

Gone but Never Forgotten
Joined
Jan 24, 2002
Messages
17,742
Hi, I don't want to get into too much trouble, but I think you may need to have the drives redetected in your BIOS- you cannot "lose" 3 drives very easily. When the system starts....you see a message to hit a key, sometimes the DEL key, to enter Setup....check in Standard CMOS settings area for drives....set them to auto or whatever is reccommended for your BIOS, they usually tell you what to have the setting, either AUTO for CD, hard drives, the removable drives might be listed where the floppy drive (1.44MB) is....
Yesterday, my 3 yr old grandson hit the eject button while a game was playing,,,resulted in a non-booting older hard drive and burnt older CD drive....so, you can lose drives but it's usually a sudden jolt that does it, not a software problem....probably your BIOS settings need adjustment is all.
They should detect as what they actually are, Primary or Secondary, Master or Slave, for hard drives and CD type drives.
Just going into the BIOS and saving and exiting re-sets things so the drives show up- don't change anything if they are listed, just SAVE/EXIT as it tells you.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top