Safe mode ...not?

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Monarch1st

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 2, 2009
Messages
16
Safe mode doesn't want to start.
I hit f8 and select safe mode (simple safe mode without networking or anything), and it crashes.
Normal windows starts and runs just fine with no major problems. (...and I thot safe mode was a subset of full windows)

What is missing that safe mode doesn't start?

Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.2
OS Version: Microsoft Windows XP Professional, Service Pack 3, 32 bit
Processor: AMD Athlon(tm) 64 X2 Dual Core Processor 4600+, x86 Family 15 Model 75 Stepping 2
Processor Count: 2
RAM: 3326 Mb
Graphics Card: NVIDIA GeForce 9500 GT, 1024 Mb
Hard Drives: C: Total - 20951 MB, Free - 9992 MB; D: Total - 131579 MB, Free - 53411 MB; E: Total - 1907726 MB, Free - 559026 MB;
Motherboard: Dell Inc, 0UT225
Antivirus: Lavasoft Ad-Watch Live! Anti-Virus, Updated: Yes, On-Demand Scanner: Disabled
 

blues_harp28

Moderator
Joined
Jan 9, 2005
Messages
19,450
First try this.
Right click My Computer>Open
Right click - Local disk - should be C:
Click Properties.

Tools>Error checking.
Tick both boxes
Click start.
It may say it cannot scan, do you want it to scan at the next start up..
Click Yes - restart Pc.
 

Monarch1st

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 2, 2009
Messages
16
Thanks for pitching in!
I did that, and it did not seem to come up with any errors.

"The message on the blue screen says 'a problem has been detected and windows has been shut down to prevent damage to your computer..."
if that helps
 
Joined
Aug 1, 2003
Messages
51,988
Anything else on that blue screen? The top part is generic and on all of them. Error numbers and files at the bottom are the most help.

Or attach the zipped files in Windows\minidump for analysis.
 

Monarch1st

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 2, 2009
Messages
16
It says something about removing recently installed hardware.
But nothing has been recently installed. This was occasioned by a virus.

And there's no Windows\minidump directory.
 

blues_harp28

Moderator
Joined
Jan 9, 2005
Messages
19,450
c:\windows\minidump
It may be empty but should be there.
Post the latest minidump files
ZIP them and attach them to your next post.

Have you scanned your Pc with your Anti-Virus program in normal mode?
 

Monarch1st

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 2, 2009
Messages
16
No minidump anywhere on the computer. (ok, there is a firefox minidumps dir, and steam has a minidump program but those don't count>)
Does xp use it?
Would it be something deleted by ccleaner? I use that every night.

No virus either. I regularly, now, scan the system with the antivirus, immunet, superantispyware, malwarebytes and spybot. Quick scan every day, full scan maybe twice a month.
I'm more paranoid that I was (but am i paranoid enuf?)
 

blues_harp28

Moderator
Joined
Jan 9, 2005
Messages
19,450
Start >Control Panel>System.
Click on Advanced .
Under the Startup and Recovery.
Click Settings.
Under System Failure.
Un-check Automatically restart.

Restart the Pc and the blue screen will be appear>make a note and post error message.

Ccleaner - have you used the Registry Cleaner, that is a part of Ccleaner?
If yes - best not to - registry cleaners have been known to remove Windows files.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top