1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

safe mode only

Discussion in 'Windows Vista' started by flmng8bll, Jan 19, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. flmng8bll

    flmng8bll Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    auto safe mode booting, can't boot normal
    HI,

    I have this company laptop here (a Toshiba satellite harman/kardon) that i must repare without losing anything.

    this is the message i get before windows start:
    2 System Processors [2047Mb memory] Multiprocessor Kernel The System is booting in safe mode - minimal services boot logging Enabled

    Then make drive verification says C and D are clean. Then boot in safe mode.

    The Thing is that it only want to boot in safe mode!
    - Let it boot alone.... Safe Mode
    - Hit F8 then selected normal mode.... safe mode
    - Scan-Disk+Defrag+AdAware+Ccleaner.... safe mode

    Another problem is that I cannot install any progs, windows give me an error box saying that installer doesn't work in safe mode.

    Please Help i spent like 5 hour on this without any result :p

    Joey



    tech support guy system info utility version 1..0.1
    os version; intel(R) core(TM) 2 duo cpu t5250 @ 1.50GHz,intel 64 Family
    6 model 15 stepping 13
    processor count; 1
    RAM; 254mb
    graphics card; mobile intel(R) 965 express chipset family, 6mb
    hard drives; C; total - 293242 MB, Free - 198250, 6 Mb
    motherboard; Toshiba, israa, 1.00, 0123456789AB
    antivirus; none
     
  2. joeten

    joeten

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2009
    Messages:
    3,850
    Hi and welcome to TSG
    Did you check the event viewer? Did you install something just prior to this happening? Did windows just update? If it will start in safe mode it is most likely one of the above that is causing the problem. Did you try doing a system restore to a time before this problem started?
     
  3. Macboatmaster

    Macboatmaster Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    22,550
    If that IS a company laptop WHY does it not have an anti-virus program.
     
  4. lunarlander

    lunarlander

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2007
    Messages:
    11,578
    Insert the Vista DVD and go to Repair > Startup Repair.
     
  5. fodelement

    fodelement

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2009
    Messages:
    128
    1. Open Regedit.exe
    2. Navigate to HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Control\SafeBoot
    3. Delete the subkey folder called OPTION
    4. Navigate to HKEY_LOCAL_MACHINE\SYSTEM\CurrentControlSet\Control\Session Manager\Environment
    5. Delete the value called SAFEBOOT_OPTION
    6. Reboot and done

    But seriously, no AV on a company laptop....... come on, its like you were asking for this to happen.
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Similar Threads - safe mode
  1. bschlag99
    Replies:
    5
    Views:
    457
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/975589

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice