Samba Server showing on my network!!!!

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

s1lly

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 27, 2006
Messages
16
Hi guys,

If someone could give me some advice on the following I would be most grateful.

I have just setup a wireless network at home and secured it with 128BIT WEP,
changed the admin password etc so it's fairly secure yet I seem to have a little
problem. When clicking on view workgroup computers I see MSHOME which
is the default network that I have but also have another workgroup called BT, which inside
this is something called Samba Server (Thomson). This leads to me think
that someone is using my network.

I have switched off my router and changed passwords and weps etc but to no avail,
it went away and now it's back. It is definitely nothing to do with me as I dont have
Linux installed and have def not setup a samba server.

Any ideas?
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,425
I suspect the Samba Server (Thompson) is actually an embedded server in some TCP/IP device you have connected to your network. Please enumerate ALL the devices connected to the network. :)
 

s1lly

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 27, 2006
Messages
16
We have my laptop my girlfriends desktop and thats it, nothing else is connected according to the details on the router. So a total of 2 devices connected to the router. I have checked devices using the router and it is only showing our 2 PC's.
 
Joined
Nov 2, 2002
Messages
22,468
Since it is another entire workgroup showing up - "workgroup called BT" - Do you see this if you:

1. Turn the wireless off on the router.
2.Turn of the router
3. Turn off the computers
4. Restart the computers

Then if it doesn't come back, then turn on the router.
If it still doesn't come back, then re-enable the wiress
If it comes back, then make some changes to your wireless security.
 
Joined
Jul 1, 2005
Messages
1,729
They have a BT Home hub as I do myself.

That runs on linux which samba server is a part of. You can plug in a memory stick or external USB hard drive into it and it will be able to tranfer files under that samba server. If you plan to, only use FAT/FAT32. As it runs on linux it cannot read NTFS.
 
Joined
Sep 28, 2005
Messages
3,477
I was about to say that it must be some sort of storage device. My Buffalo device show as the same way.
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,425
jmwills said:
I was about to say that it must be some sort of storage device. My Buffalo device show as the same way.
See Post #2. :)
 
Joined
Nov 2, 2002
Messages
22,468
jackdw,

It's good to know the specifics on this. Looks like in searching internet, there are actually some concerns about that router having Linux incorporated into it. Even some hacks to allow it to be used on different networks.
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,425
Many devices run on Linux, I have two different NAS boxes that use Linux, as well as my TiVo, and a MediaGate MG-35 media server. This is a very common embedded system for "appliance" network devices.
 
Joined
Apr 30, 2008
Messages
1
As the thread of the notes helped me I thought I would contribute by joining and advising as follows:

I have a BT Home Hub and I have just installed McAfee Security Centre, which identified a device called Thomson, with details type Samba Server and its IP address.

If you look at your network devices in Windows you will find the IP address and the physical address of the BT Hub.
If you open the DOS command line and type tracert "IP address" you will see one hop of about 1ms and the device physical adddress.
If you do the same trace route for the Samba Server, you should find it is one Hop of less than 1ms with a physical address near identical to the BT Hub.

Thus they are in the same place and are probably the same device.

Best Regards
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top