1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Samsung 215TW 1 Second On/Off

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by PineCreek, Apr 14, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. PineCreek

    PineCreek Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    Messages:
    23
    Samsung Syncmaster 215TW in analog mode comes on for 1 second displaying whatever is currently on desktop and then goes black. Recycle power and get same result. Other modes seem to work. I have tried it on many computers with XP or Win98. Same result. Suggestions?
     
  2. PineCreek

    PineCreek Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    Messages:
    23
    Additional observations: It appears that any time computer transitions from desktop to screensaver or back to desktop, the screen comes on for around 1 second, then black.

    I was unable to see icons when applying a bright light close to lcd.
     
  3. TheShooter93

    TheShooter93 Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Jul 9, 2008
    Messages:
    11,245
    First Name:
    Cody
    Try a different cord if possible, if not, trash the monitor. I'm not one for giving up, but that's really the only option I see here.
     
  4. PineCreek

    PineCreek Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    Messages:
    23
    Tried different code. No joy. Thx for response.
     
  5. PineCreek

    PineCreek Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    Messages:
    23
    Just tested S-Video in and it works. No black-out. So...I think question becomes what functions/circuits are on analog port that are not on S-Video that could cause momentary on any time you switch monitor in analog mode?
     
  6. PineCreek

    PineCreek Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    Messages:
    23
    Every article I read seems to point to failed inverter or lamps, but I can't ignore the fact that the unit works fine in S-Video, etc. I don't want to tear the hardware apart for a setting problem.
     
  7. ssemm

    ssemm

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Hi
    I am having the same problem and I was wondering if you have managed to solve it yet ?
    Thanx
     
  8. PineCreek

    PineCreek Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    Messages:
    23
    No luck so far. I'm really surprised at the lack of response. Thought this one would be interesting to lots of folks.
     
  9. Triple6

    Triple6 Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 26, 2002
    Messages:
    52,935
    First Name:
    Rob
    You shouldn't be too surprised about the lack of responses, this is an electronic failure of some sort and without schematics and specialized testing equipment you won't find any detailed answers. Most techs do not repair monitors, just isn't worth the time or cost.

    However Samsung does have a 3 year warranty on most of their monitors.
     
  10. PineCreek

    PineCreek Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    Messages:
    23
    Normally I think the same thing when a monitor has no video or scrambled video its best to pitch it but in this case the video portion of the monitor appears to be working but screen display is cut off as if some power management function had timed out. I keep thinking there may be some setting I haven't found or a fairly simple timer circuit causing the problem. Remember I can use the unit in all modes except analog and it works fine.
     
  11. Frank4d

    Frank4d Retired Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2006
    Messages:
    9,126
    I have a Syncmaster 204B that did the same thing. I got it repaired under Samsungs 3 year warranty, and they paid shipping both ways.
     
  12. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    Opened as requested.
     
  13. PineCreek

    PineCreek Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2009
    Messages:
    23
    I'm pretty convinced that the problem is either in the front end hardware for the analog port or in a setting for that same input. I'm ready to troubleshoot the analog input, but would like to have a schematic or service manual. Can anybody suggest how to acquire such information?
     
  14. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/916837

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice