1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Samsung LCD Flickers.

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by scorned, Nov 8, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. scorned

scorned Thread Starter

Hey everyone, thanks for caring about others problems, appreciate it...

But anyways I have a Samsung SyncMaster 204B... really nice monitor and it has worked awesome for the year that I have had it. But well recently it's started having little problems and they are slowly getting worse. at first the monitor would just randomly "restart itself" and it wasn't too big of a problem, but after a while whenever I would turn it on after it being off for a while, it would flicker for a few seconds and was a little dim, then it would work itself out and be fine. Today it was a lot worse with the monitor flickering as well as flashing on and off... I'm sure monitors aren't easily repaired. I'm wondering what could be causing this. I know it is newish technology and that they only last about 5 years (true?) but I really don't think i should be seeing problems like this so soon. Anyways thanks for any help!

2. SB305

SB305

Quick suggestion: You've doubtless already done this, but check the power lead, particularly where it plugs into the power adapter if the monitor uses one, as well as into the monitor itself. Also check the monitor cable. I had problems with two TFT monitors a couple of years back and both resulted from the awkward and flimsy cable connector at the monitor end.
    Alternatively, it may be that the backlight is failing.
    If you go to Samsung's support website you should find some useful information.

3. scorned

scorned Thread Starter

Well, I got Samsung to replace the monitor and now it does not flicker. However it still restarts periodically :confused: