SATA HD not detected in BIOS

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

mechanoman

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 4, 2006
Messages
9
Hope somebody can help me out on this one, I disconnected my hard drive to install a chipset fan that had failed on my ASUS A8N-SLI motherboard and when I tried to plug in the harddrive the computer could not detect a hard drive on start up. I also checked the BIOS settings and noticed that with the drive plugged into SATA port 1 that it was also not detected in BIOS. I tried another SATA cable and another power cable to no avail since the HD, a Seagate Barracuda 7200 300 Gb, was still covererd under warranty, I sent it in and received a repaired HD. When I plugged it in I got the same problem, no disk detected on start up and BIOS. I had an old 80 Gb IDE drive that I plugged in while I was waiting for the SATA drive and it was working fine, but I want to get the SATA drive back up and running. Any ideas???? Thanks
 
Joined
Mar 8, 2004
Messages
7,794
Make sure the SATA ports are enabled in BIOS. Try a different SATA connector on the MB (couldn't tell if you did that). Does the drive turn on and spin up?
 
Joined
May 3, 2006
Messages
22,445
Sounds like bios may have reset...check to see sata drives are enabled.
 

mechanoman

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 4, 2006
Messages
9
Thanks for the reply Rich-M and Norton 850 I did try a new data cable and power cable and still nothing and yes I did see that the SATA is enabled in the BIOS. Also I can hear the hard drive spin up that to me signifies that the power portion is ok but why I don't see it in BIOS has got me baffled. I also tried different SATA ports on the MOBO but can't get any of the ports to see the drive.
 

mechanoman

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 4, 2006
Messages
9
Believe it or not I thought of that too, and still nothing. I removed the battery and reset it using the jumper.
 
Joined
May 3, 2006
Messages
22,445
They could have sent you one back that doesn't work either. Seagate is having big time problems with sata drives (probably because they bought Maxtor).
 

mechanoman

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 4, 2006
Messages
9
Thanks for your help folks I'm going to go get an enclosure and try to see if that works. I figure it's cheaper to do than to get a new MOBO or HD. I'll post when I find out the outcome.
 

mechanoman

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 4, 2006
Messages
9
Thanks folks got the enclosure for the drive and Windows picked it up looks like I'm into a MOBO after all good thing that it's still covered. Time to get an RMA and wait.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top