Sata or IDE ?

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

GUSMAN

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 19, 2001
Messages
774
Hi
I have an Asus mobe with sata capabilities, however, there is and IDE hard drive connected to it at the moment. Would it be any advantage to get a sata hdd, and could I still use the IDE hdd as a slave??

Cheers

Gus
 
Joined
Dec 5, 2003
Messages
333
SATA controllers are faster than IDE, so if you put a windows hd on SATA it should increase your speed.
 

GUSMAN

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 19, 2001
Messages
774
Cheers Buddy
So if I buy a sats hdd,could I leave the other one connected to the IDE channel or would it have to go? Or can I make it the slave with the sata set up ?
Cheers
Gus
 
Joined
Dec 5, 2003
Messages
333
Im not exactly sure about that, I have not worked with SATA drives yet.
But, I think if you made the IDE drive slave then it should come out ok.
Just dont quote me on that. :)

Im sure it you did a google search on setting up SATA drives you could find
some kind of walkthrough with the configuration you are looking for.
 

JohnWill

Retired Moderator
Joined
Oct 19, 2002
Messages
106,429
Actually, there won't be any speed increase from the difference between ATA-133 and SATA-150, both interfaces are faster than any currently available disk hardware. The claimed advantages of SATA are the smaller cable and someday hot-swappable drives. Buy the one that's cheaper in a given capacity and RPM rating.
 
Joined
Jul 23, 2003
Messages
615
Howdy gusman

I had the same dilemma/question only recently, and after some researching and general reading of various forums, I opted to stay with IDE, there will be no visible increase in speed, and after the all to frequent horror stories of setting them up, disc crashes, running incorrectly, I gave them a wide berth, I am not convinced sata is the future, the jury is still out for me. If you have no ide slots left on your motherboard, get yourself a pci ide card, the promise ones are superb.


bookime
 

Triple6

Rob
Moderator
Joined
Dec 26, 2002
Messages
52,933
SATA is the future and has its advantages, but its not quite here yet. Get a nice 7200 RPM 8MB cache IDE drive and you'll get about the same performance as most SATA drives currently out, especially on the intergrated SATA controllers, and save some money.
 
Joined
Jul 10, 2002
Messages
326
I dont think the SATA would be noticably faster as described above. You can use the IDE and SATA together. they are separate interfaces. 2 SATA drives in RAID 0 array will make a noticable difference.

Steve L
 

GUSMAN

Thread Starter
Joined
Dec 19, 2001
Messages
774
Cheers for the replies guys,
I will stay with my IDE for now then. I have no problems with it, just curious about the sata business.

Thanks

Gus
 
Joined
Apr 8, 2004
Messages
53
GUSMAN said:
Hi
I have an Asus mobe with sata capabilities, however, there is and IDE hard drive connected to it at the moment. Would it be any advantage to get a sata hdd, and could I still use the IDE hdd as a slave??

Cheers

Gus
like everybody says sata HD right now is not really faster than IDE HD.( but they will improve the next generation ) However, If you decide to use the sata as well as your IDE, yes you can keep your IDE drive as a slave.( or your SATA as a slave ) Make sure that you set your BIOS correctly.
(1) first boot.......CD
(2) second boot...SCSI ( if you want to boot with sata HD )
(3) third boot.......HD (0) (if you want IDE HD slave )
or
(1) first boot ......CD
(2) second boot...HD(0) ( if you want to boot with IDE hd)
(3) third boot.......SCSI ( If you want SATA HD slave )

now you can have your OS loaded in both HD and decide with which HD you want to start your day, you only have to go to BIOS before you start and switch second and third boot.( it takes only a few seconds)
that what I do with my 2 HD and it works well.
good day!
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top