1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

SATA2 drive, SATA1 MB issue

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by ajlorenzi1987, Aug 23, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. ajlorenzi1987

    ajlorenzi1987 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    My first question is can this Motherboard (intel Classic Series Desktop Board DG35EC) support a Sata 2 hard drive? Now I've already tried a Sata 1 and it picked it up fine but it won't pick up IDE or my Sata 2(weird I know).

    So could I download an update onto my Sata 1 hard drive to update my motherboard to read my Sata 2 hard drive or will I have to get a new hard drive?
     
  2. leroys1000

    leroys1000 Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    Messages:
    6,319
    Specs don't say anything about sata2.
    You might be able to set a jumper on the drive to make it sata1 compatable.
    Check the drive manufacturers website for info.
    Might want to check the BIOS setup for the motherboard and
    make sure the IDE and SATA controllers are enabled.
     
  3. JohnWill

    JohnWill Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2002
    Messages:
    106,418
    You may need to jumper the SATA2 drive with the compatibility option. What's the exact make/model of the SATA2 drive?
     
  4. ajlorenzi1987

    ajlorenzi1987 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    It's a Western Digital 500GB C5040
    WD5000AAKS 7200RPM SATA
    II Hard Drive w/ 16MB
    Buffer (OEM)
     
  5. Rich-M

    Rich-M

    Joined:
    May 3, 2006
    Messages:
    22,443
    It's a P35 chipset it has to work with Sata II drives. I would bet the drive you tried is NG.
     
  6. ajlorenzi1987

    ajlorenzi1987 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    I hope not I've dropped money like crazy into the building of this computer and don't need to prolong it anymore than I have. The motherboard reads Sata 1 but not IED or Sata 2 it's weird thanks for all the help all I aprreciate.
     
  7. Rich-M

    Rich-M

    Joined:
    May 3, 2006
    Messages:
    22,443
  8. ajlorenzi1987

    ajlorenzi1987 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Aug 23, 2008
    Messages:
    5
    no that's a Western digital brand but I bought it from an online company (outletpc.com) okay I read that info on the interfaces it says it supports sata now does that mean sata 2 as well or just sata? oh and it uses point to point instead of master/slave as well? I need help understanding that part though.
     
  9. leroys1000

    leroys1000 Banned

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2007
    Messages:
    6,319
    Usually,if it's SATA 2 it will state it in the specs.
    It will say something like SATA II 300MBs.
    You still may be able to switch a jumper on that
    drive for SATA 1.
     
  10. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/743024

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice