Saving Bios Changes

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

QBA

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 29, 2001
Messages
164
Hi



Guys I'm trying to fix a friend old pentium III system with a "Intel" mother board (Bios Version : 4S4EB2X0.86A.0017.P10) the bios doesn't seem to remember the changes I have saved, this is the 5th time I keep making the CD-Room drive (ATAPI CD-ROM Driv) as a "First Boot Device" using the "+" sign then going to the "Exit" tab choosing "Exit Saving Changes" pressing "enter" and then "Enter" again to say yes to save the changes and exit, but the changes are never really saved.



Any ideas what can I do to fix this issue?



thanks



Alex
 
Joined
Mar 8, 2004
Messages
7,794
You probably need a new battery(on the motherboard). When you power off the changes are not being "remembered".
 

QBA

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 29, 2001
Messages
164
Hey good thinking there Norton, that make sense :) , Let me give it a try

thanks bro

Alex
 

QBA

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 29, 2001
Messages
164
I replace the mother board battery by a brand new one and the changes are being saved on my bios



Now the bios has my CD-Room as the first bootable drive but the System is not giving me the choice to boot from the CD-Drive once I restart, so is going straight into the harddrive and the XP CD is working fine because it boots in another system.



Why should I do about this?
 
Joined
Mar 8, 2004
Messages
7,794
Always good to check the obvious. :) Before you click save, is the CDROM the first device that you see listed?

Try resetting the BIOS to optimal or default configuration. Save and exit. Reboot and then go back into BIOS make the boot drive change and see if it will save the change.

If this doesn't work make your changes and try to save things by hitting the F10 key
 

QBA

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 29, 2001
Messages
164
Thanks Norton the changes are saved like I said above, and CD-Room is the first on the list of boot device :)

So even when the CD-room is now listed as first bootable device on the list of my bios I should still restoring the default of the bios and making the CD-room drive as a bootable device again?
 
Joined
Mar 8, 2004
Messages
7,794
Sorry, sorry, sorry. Don't do what I said. I misread your answer. So the BIOS is now OK. But your WinXP is bypassed on startup?
 

QBA

Thread Starter
Joined
Oct 29, 2001
Messages
164
Yes Norton is going straight into the hard drive
 
Joined
Mar 8, 2004
Messages
7,794
I can't come up with an answer for you, but perhaps this will bump up your post and someone else will have an idea. I do have a crazy suggestion. If you have a floppy drive, set the boot order for floppy then CDROM. Of course don't put a disk in the floppy. See what happens.`
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Top