saving password

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. The original thread starter may use the Report button to request it be reopened but anyone else with a similar issue should start a New Thread. Watch our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

premsoman

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 16, 2001
Messages
76
I recently changed my ISP. Now when I launch internet explorer and the dial up window appears, I have to type in my password each time. My password is not saved even when the save password box is checked.
 

Del

Joined
Aug 31, 2001
Messages
3,452
What operating system do you have?
Windows 95, 98???

How do you connect?
dial up or a lan??
Del
 

premsoman

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 16, 2001
Messages
76
Del:Thanks for your reply.
I have Wndows 98 and use a dial up connection.
 

Del

Joined
Aug 31, 2001
Messages
3,452
Go to Start > Settings > Control Panel
Double click on Network and see if you have Client for Microsoft Networks in the configuration tab in installed components.
Also, when you turn on your computer, do you get a login screen, either Client for microsoft networks or windows login that you cancel out of?
Del
 

premsoman

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 16, 2001
Messages
76
I think I know what the problem is, although I do not have a solution. I have an additional dial up service to connect to the internet through work which is configured such that saving any passwords are not allowed. How can I change this?

Thanks again, Dell, for your prompt replies.
 

Max19

Account Disabled
Joined
Jul 31, 2001
Messages
1,222
You probably can't and definitely shouldn't change the security settings your company put on your computer. They are there for a very important reason. Have you checked with your company to be sure you're allowed to use your work computer to connect to another ISP?
 

premsoman

Thread Starter
Joined
Aug 16, 2001
Messages
76
Max,

Thanks for your reply. The computer I referred to is at my home, but was programmed to enable me to sign in to my hospital network. I wasnt aware then that this would result in an inability to save passwords. I have asked the IT department to correct this.
 

Bryan

Bryan
Joined
Jul 3, 1999
Messages
11,943
If you click on Start to display the Start Menu, do you see an option for LogOff? If so, does it just say "LogOff...." or does it say "LogOff " and then a UserName next to it?
 

Max19

Account Disabled
Joined
Jul 31, 2001
Messages
1,222
Click Start | Find | Files or Folders. Search for *.pwl. Delete the one that has your user name (the name next to the Log Off feature in the start menu). Delete it. It's safe.
 

Bryan

Bryan
Joined
Jul 3, 1999
Messages
11,943
Yes trust me it's perfectly safe to do.

Click on Start>Find>Files, key in *.pwl and click on FindNow. Once it or they are found, Right click on each and every .pwl file displayed and select Delete. Once you've deleted all .pwl files, click on Start>Shutdown>Restartr. When prompted at the startup to Logon, enter what you want in the UserName. Just be sure something is in the User Name box. Leave the Password box Blanks and click on OK.

Now try saving the Dialup Password.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. The original thread starter may use the Report button to request it be reopened but anyone else with a similar issue should start a New Thread. Watch our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top