1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Saving Pictures On Vista Home Premium

Discussion in 'Windows Vista' started by thebiggerbopper, Feb 9, 2007.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. thebiggerbopper

thebiggerbopper Thread Starter

Hi folks, I'm a newbie here. We just got a new HP Compaq with Vista Home Edition Premium. We're having trouble trying to save pictures to a file. We right click on a picture and then click on "save picture as" where it says save file as I only have two choices, it says "Art" or "bitmap" I can't save it as a jpg, gif or whatever. When I try saving it as Art or bitmap to one of my folders it shows up as some other picture that I have no idea where it came from. What the heck is going on here? Can anyone help??

Thank You
    Dave

2. Squashman

Squashman Trusted Advisor

Could you give us a little more detail. Are you moving these pictures from a Camera or are they on a CD and you are moving them to your PC.

What software are you using to try and save them as a JPG. You can open them in paint and do a SAVE AS jpg.

3. thebiggerbopper

It's any pictures, gifs or jpeg that I try to save from the internet. With XP it was easy. Just right click and save as then pick a folder, name your file then choose how you wanna save it. With this new Vista when I right click on a pic, jpeg or gif to save it I can only save it as "art" or "bitmap" I've tried saving it to a folder I made but when I go to open it, it's not the picture I saved or it says "can not open file, not the right format" What happened to saving a file as a gif or jpeg???

Sorry but I'll be gone for awhile. I work overnight and have to sleep till later this evening. I'll check back before I leave for work.

4. bigk

bigk