1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

SBG6782-AC Question/Issue

Discussion in 'Networking' started by jonasro, Apr 9, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. jonasro

    jonasro Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2015
    Messages:
    5
    I checked the forums first to see if anyone else was having the same issue as I was and sure enough found one but the OP didn't reply to the last message so it expired. http://forums.techguy.org/networking/1130277-random-drops-1-5-minutes.html

    Last summer, I installed the SBG6782-AC in our AZ condo and it's been great. Recently, when I decided to upgrade our modem/router at our WA house, I figured since it was working so well at the condo, I'd install the same modem/router..By and large, it's been fine but there have been a few issues:

    Like the other poster, every so often, most notably between 10 minutes to the top of the hour and 10 minutes to the bottom of the hour, there will be short "hang-ups", where the "Connecting" wheel just spins and spins and nothing happens and then everything is okay again after.

    It happens wired or wireless and I've done all the same things as the OP (changing the DNS, changing the DHCP lease time). The modem/router itself doesn't change (meaning it doesn't reboot or anything) and all items connected (such as my work email or IP softphone) all remain connected with no issues...

    The Arris support site isn't very informative and there's nothing out there that even hints at this type of situation and I'm loathed to sit on a phone call with some support person god-knows-where.

    But I am out of ideas... :(

    Here are the results of the "Ping" tests that I saw asked for in another related topic:

    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7601]
    Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

    C:\Users\j1012833>ping 192.168.0.1

    Pinging 192.168.0.1 with 32 bytes of data:
    Reply from 192.168.0.1: bytes=32 time=2ms TTL=63
    Reply from 192.168.0.1: bytes=32 time=2ms TTL=63
    Reply from 192.168.0.1: bytes=32 time=2ms TTL=63
    Reply from 192.168.0.1: bytes=32 time=1ms TTL=63

    Ping statistics for 192.168.0.1:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 1ms, Maximum = 2ms, Average = 1ms

    C:\Users\j1012833>ping google.com

    Pinging google.com [74.125.228.201] with 32 bytes of data:
    Reply from 74.125.228.201: bytes=32 time=94ms TTL=49
    Reply from 74.125.228.201: bytes=32 time=96ms TTL=49
    Reply from 74.125.228.201: bytes=32 time=94ms TTL=49
    Reply from 74.125.228.201: bytes=32 time=95ms TTL=49

    Ping statistics for 74.125.228.201:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 94ms, Maximum = 96ms, Average = 94ms

    C:\Users\j1012833>ping 209.183.226.152

    Pinging 209.183.226.152 with 32 bytes of data:
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.
    Request timed out.

    Ping statistics for 209.183.226.152:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 0, Lost = 4 (100% loss),

    Comcast Default DNS

    C:\Users\j1012833>ping 75.75.75.75

    Pinging 75.75.75.75 with 32 bytes of data:
    Reply from 75.75.75.75: bytes=32 time=32ms TTL=53
    Reply from 75.75.75.75: bytes=32 time=32ms TTL=53
    Reply from 75.75.75.75: bytes=32 time=31ms TTL=53
    Reply from 75.75.75.75: bytes=32 time=32ms TTL=53

    Ping statistics for 75.75.75.75:
    Packets: Sent = 4, Received = 4, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
    Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
    Minimum = 31ms, Maximum = 32ms, Average = 31ms

    I am open to any and all suggestions... We've had the modem/router installed for about 6 weeks and it's been working pretty much fine except for this minor glitch.....

    Happy to provide whatever additional details are required.


    Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.2
    OS Version: Microsoft Windows 7 Enterprise, Service Pack 1, 64 bit
    Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM) i7-2640M CPU @ 2.80GHz, Intel64 Family 6 Model 42 Stepping 7
    Processor Count: 4
    RAM: 8072 Mb
    Graphics Card: Intel(R) HD Graphics Family, -251 Mb
    Hard Drives: C: Total - 241265 MB, Free - 102516 MB;
    Motherboard: Dell Inc., 0P6K8J
    Antivirus: McAfee VirusScan Enterprise, Updated and Enabled
     
  2. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,356
    First Name:
    Wayne
    can we see the ipconfig /all
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
    ipconfig /all

    We would like to see the results from an ipconfig /all - post back the results in a reply here.

    If you cannot access the internet with this PC, then you will need to paste the results into something like notepad and then copy onto a machine that can access the internet and post the results in a reply here.
    Save the file to a USB flash drive or other removable media. Plug it into the working computer with internet access and copy the file and paste here.

    If you do not have another PC - do you have a phone connected to the internet - can you photograph the result and post the image in a reply
    Note: you will see entries named Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface: we dont need to see that information - JUST the information above those entries

    For Windows 8
    To open a Cmd Prompt or an Administrator Cmd prompt from the Desktop.
    http://www.bleepingcomputer.com/tutorials/open-an-elevated-command-prompt-in-windows-8/
    Use Win + X and choose Command Prompt or Command Prompt (Admin) from the list.​

    For windows version, XP, Vista, W7
    Hold the Windows key and press R

    Now type CMD

    Now press Enter to open a command prompt box (A new dialogue box - black with white font, will appear on screen ):​

    In the command prompt window that opens, type the following command:

    Note that there is a space before the /ALL, but there is NOT a space after the / in the following command.

    ipconfig /all > network.txt & network.txt

    It will export the results into notepad and then automatically open the notepad and display on your screen.

    Now all you need to do is copy and paste those results into a reply here
    to do that:
    From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Select all
    all the text will now be highlighted
    Next
    From the notepad menu - choose Edit - Copy

    Now go back to the forum - goto the reply and then right click in the reply box and paste the results.
    The results from the notepad should now appear in the forum reply.
    ------------------------------------------------------------------------
     
  3. jonasro

    jonasro Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2015
    Messages:
    5
    Here you go, Wayne.

    Microsoft Windows [Version 6.1.7601]
    Copyright (c) 2009 Microsoft Corporation. All rights reserved.

    C:\Users\Ron>ipconfig/all

    Windows IP Configuration

    Host Name . . . . . . . . . . . . : Ron-PC
    Primary Dns Suffix . . . . . . . :
    Node Type . . . . . . . . . . . . : Hybrid
    IP Routing Enabled. . . . . . . . : No
    WINS Proxy Enabled. . . . . . . . : No

    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection 2:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft Virtual WiFi Miniport Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-26-C7-68-63-B3
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Wireless LAN adapter Wireless Network Connection:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Intel(R) Centrino(R) Wireless-N 1000
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-26-C7-68-63-B2
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Ethernet adapter Local Area Connection:

    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Realtek PCIe GBE Family Controller
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : C8-0A-A9-EB-8E-35
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : Yes
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
    Link-local IPv6 Address . . . . . : fe80::95fa:1df4:6a0:9321%10(Preferred)
    IPv4 Address. . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.75(Preferred)
    Subnet Mask . . . . . . . . . . . : 255.255.255.0
    Lease Obtained. . . . . . . . . . : Thursday, April 09, 2015 7:26:24 AM
    Lease Expires . . . . . . . . . . : Friday, April 10, 2015 11:56:32 AM
    Default Gateway . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    DHCP Server . . . . . . . . . . . : 192.168.0.1
    DHCPv6 IAID . . . . . . . . . . . : 197659305
    DHCPv6 Client DUID. . . . . . . . : 00-01-00-01-13-B7-74-B2-C8-0A-A9-EB-8E-35

    DNS Servers . . . . . . . . . . . : 75.75.75.75
    75.75.76.76
    NetBIOS over Tcpip. . . . . . . . : Enabled

    Tunnel adapter isatap.{C9189826-4D50-426D-8AC7-08FB6CDD71D4}:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter isatap.hsd1.wa.comcast.net.:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #2
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Teredo Tunneling Pseudo-Interface
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes

    Tunnel adapter isatap.{61D1B0CE-E1F2-4BE5-BC0E-7DF16A3DA318}:

    Media State . . . . . . . . . . . : Media disconnected
    Connection-specific DNS Suffix . :
    Description . . . . . . . . . . . : Microsoft ISATAP Adapter #4
    Physical Address. . . . . . . . . : 00-00-00-00-00-00-00-E0
    DHCP Enabled. . . . . . . . . . . : No
    Autoconfiguration Enabled . . . . : Yes
     
  4. jonasro

    jonasro Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2015
    Messages:
    5
    FYI - Here's a snippet from the internet connectivity tool
     

    Attached Files:

  5. jonasro

    jonasro Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2015
    Messages:
    5
    As another data point, I wanted to test whether the "fault" lies with the modem part or the router part, so I hooked up my NetGear WNDR4500v2 router to my personal laptop and have been running the internet connectivity monitor for the past 95 minutes. I've had 3 5-second "disconnects" on the NetGear router versus 20 in the same time period on the Arris router, so the modem part is working fine, it's seemingly a setting on the router side....

    I'm contemplating shutting down the router side of the Arris router and hooking the NetGear back up but I don't relish the idea of keeping a $200 modem... :)
     
  6. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,356
    First Name:
    Wayne
    can you connect directly to the modem and test that
     
  7. jonasro

    jonasro Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2015
    Messages:
    5
    Wayne - Yes, accessing the modem is not an issue.

    I have disabled the router side of the SBG6792-AC and hooked my NetGear WNDR4500v2 back up and things are working much, much better.

    Sadly, I've past the return date for the Arris modem/router, so now I guess I have a $200 modem...

    I will continue to do some research on the product as I hope it's not faulty hardware.
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1146318

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice