scandisk errors....bad hard drive?!

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

dstrand

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 5, 2001
Messages
88
I have a pentium 166, with 32MB RAM and a 2 gig hard drive. Booted it up, and it did not even get to the windows screen.... I can boot up with a floppy, but can not go into safe mode. I am currently running scandisk, and it is reporting that virtually EVERY file is corrupted! Is the hard drive crapping out, or did WIN 95 spontaneously combust? Help!
 
Joined
May 26, 2001
Messages
7,530
Well, it sounds like your hard drive could be either damaged or going bad. Have you tried repairing any of the corrupted files?
 

dstrand

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 5, 2001
Messages
88
yes, I am repairing them right now...the scope of the corruption is incredible- thousands of files have been checked and repaired... scandisk is now fixing the FAT system on C:\WINDOWS, don't know if it'll boot or not. What would cause this? I am going back to check on it now.
 

~Candy~

Retired Administrator
Joined
Jan 27, 2001
Messages
103,706
Before you allow files to be repaired....perhaps it would be a good idea to post what type (s) of files are corrupted.....

Sometimes repairing will do double damage.....

Have you scanned for viruses recently? Is your virus program up to date?
 

dstrand

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 5, 2001
Messages
88
scandisk reported 11,394 invalid directory entries removed
2 directory entries FAT chains truncated
10 invalid directory entries corrected
File corruption seems to be in the c:\windows folder or the c:\windows\system folder
Scandisk is now halted for the third time at the same spot, trying to correct the Fat system for C:\windows

Any way to save my data?
Or is the drive hooped?
Thanx very much for your help...
 

dstrand

Thread Starter
Joined
Apr 5, 2001
Messages
88
Whoops... I am running the grisoft AVG virus system, and it is up to date, and is set to check all incoming email.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Members online

Top