1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Scandisk Freezes. Pleeeease help!

Discussion in 'Earlier Versions of Windows' started by rust_in_peace77, Dec 31, 2001.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. rust_in_peace77

    rust_in_peace77 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2001
    Messages:
    42
    Hi, I was about to give my C:\ Drive a much needed Scandisk + Defrag. But heres my problem. After scandisk goes through the file allocation thing, and checks folders it reaches Checking Files, then it just completely freezes my computer, and CTRL+ALT+DEL just brings me to a repeated 'Blue Screen of Death'

    I have been reading other posts, and have already tried these
    Closed all programs running in background, including Anti Virus.
    Removed all Spyware on system.
    Tried running scandisk in safe mode
    Upgraded to Internet Explorer 6
    Scanned all drives for viruses (none found)

    After doing these I still lock up in the same spot on Scandisk.

    A few other notes, don't know if they matter or not

    Processor: AMD Duron @ 850Mz
    OS: WinME
    Hard Drive: 40GB, partitioned into C:, D:, E: and F:

    Also, I was successfully abled to Scandisk my partition drives, I just can't seem to get it to work with the C:\, and I seriously need to Defrag. Any help would be greatly appreciated :D
     
  2. SavvyLady

    SavvyLady

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2001
    Messages:
    2,218
    ok ... are sure you had everything closed. screensaver too?
     
  3. rust_in_peace77

    rust_in_peace77 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2001
    Messages:
    42
    Yes, my screensaver was disabled. I closed out everything that is down in the Taskbar.
     
  4. SavvyLady

    SavvyLady

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2001
    Messages:
    2,218
    then go to start/run & type in msinfo32 ...click ok...
    then go to software envirement & click the (+) plus
    then click on startup
    go to edit & click select all
    then back to edit & click copy
    then come back in here & paste it
     
  5. SavvyLady

    SavvyLady

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2001
    Messages:
    2,218
    oh & by the way... i love your name...LOL
     
  6. rust_in_peace77

    rust_in_peace77 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2001
    Messages:
    42
    Ok, here it is

    *StateMgr c:\windows\system\restore\statemgr.exe All Users HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\RunServices
    Adaptec DirectCD c:\progra~1\zipcd\directcd.exe All Users HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run
    Adobe Gamma Loader.exe c:\progra~1\common~1\adobe\calibr~1\adobeg~1.exe .DEFAULT Startup
    CDInterceptor cdi.exe All Users HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run
    CreateCD c:\progra~1\zipcd\easycd~1\createcd\createcd.exe -r All Users HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run
    Dcfssvc c:\windows\system32\drivers\dcfssvc.exe All Users HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run
    Launcher selaunch.exe All Users HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run
    LoadPowerProfile rundll32.exe powrprof.dll,loadcurrentpwrscheme All Users HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run
    LoadPowerProfile rundll32.exe powrprof.dll,loadcurrentpwrscheme All Users HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\RunServices
    NAV Agent c:\progra~1\norton~1\navapw32.exe All Users HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run
    PCHealth c:\windows\pchealth\support\pchschd.exe -s All Users HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run
    RealTray c:\program files\real\realplayer\realplay.exe systemboothideplayer All Users HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run
    ScanRegistry c:\windows\scanregw.exe /autorun All Users HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run
    SchedulingAgent mstask.exe All Users HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\RunServices
    ScriptBlocking "c:\program files\common files\symantec shared\script blocking\sbserv.exe" -reg All Users HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\RunServices
    SideWinderTrayV4 c:\progra~1\micros~1\gameco~1\common\swtrayv4.exe All Users HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run
    StillImageMonitor c:\windows\system\stimon.exe All Users HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\RunServices
    SystemTray systray.exe All Users HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run
    TaskMonitor c:\windows\taskmon.exe All Users HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run
    TBTray tbtray.exe All Users HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run
    WindowBlinds c:\program files\object desktop\windowblinds\wbload.exe auto .DEFAULT HKU\.DEFAULT\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run
     
  7. SavvyLady

    SavvyLady

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2001
    Messages:
    2,218
    ok this is going to take me a while.... I'll post back soon as possible
     
  8. rust_in_peace77

    rust_in_peace77 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2001
    Messages:
    42
    Alright, thankyou so very very much for taking the time to help me. And sorry it pasted a little bit funny.
     
  9. SavvyLady

    SavvyLady

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2001
    Messages:
    2,218
    These items do not need to load at reboot so take the checks out when you see them in msconfig...
    you get there by going to start/run.. type in msconfig & click ok... then click on startup

    NOTE **** special attention needed where you see asteriks******
    Adaptec DirectCD c:\progra~1\zipcd\directcd.exe All Users HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersi
    on\Run ...remove check

    Adobe Gamma Loader.exe c:\progra~1\common~1\adobe\calibr~1\adobeg~1.exe .DEFAULT Startup
    CDInterceptor cdi.exe All Users HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersi
    on\Run ...remove check unless you do graphics professionally

    CreateCD c:\progra~1\zipcd\easycd~1\createcd\creat
    ecd.exe -r All Users HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersi
    on\Run ...remove check

    Dcfssvc c:\windows\system32\drivers\dcfssvc.exe All Users HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersi
    on\Run ...remove check

    Launcher selaunch.exe All Users HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersi
    on\Run ...remove check


    PCHealth c:\windows\pchealth\support\pchschd.exe -s All Users HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersi
    on\Run ...remove check

    RealTray c:\program files\real\realplayer\realplay.exe systemboothideplayer All Users HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersi
    on\Run ...remove check


    ********************ScriptBlocking
    "c:\program files\common files\symantec shared\script blocking\sbserv.exe" -reg All Users
    HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersi
    on\RunServices********* ScriptBlocking SBServ.exe Update to Norton AntiVirus 2001. Detects
    certain types of script-based viruses without the need for specific virus definitions - such as
    JavaScript and VBScript. This will help protect you from these viruses even before virus
    definitions are available. Note - some users complain of problems once the update is installed -
    refer here for more information ********************************

    *****SideWinderTrayV4 c:\progra~1\micros~1\gameco~1\com
    mon\swtrayv4.exe All Users HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersi
    on\Run .... not sure if you need this on start up or not

    *****StillImageMonitor c:\windows\system\stimon.exe All Users HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersi
    on\RunServices *****Start -> Programs, create your own shortcut & remove the check in msconfig


    TBTray tbtray.exe All Users HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersi
    on\Run .....remove check

    WindowBlinds c:\program files\object desktop\windowblinds\wbload.exe auto .DEFAULT HKU\. DEFAULT\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\
    Run *** not sure on this

    anything not listed here stays in your startup with checks enabled
     
  10. rust_in_peace77

    rust_in_peace77 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2001
    Messages:
    42
    Alright, I did everything you said, except I left SideWinder Tray on there, its just for my Joystick. I am rebooting now, and am gonna retry Scandisk. I will come back in a moment.
     
  11. SavvyLady

    SavvyLady

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2001
    Messages:
    2,218
    rust ... one more thing... do you have ad-aware?

    spyware is getting really bad... so if you don't have it go get it

    http://www.lavasoft.de English version
     
  12. rust_in_peace77

    rust_in_peace77 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2001
    Messages:
    42
    Nope, still locks up :confused:

    And yes, I do have Ad-Aware i just removed all Spyware awhile ago before i made my very first post on this thread.
     
  13. SavvyLady

    SavvyLady

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2001
    Messages:
    2,218
    what is your OS & do you get an error?
     
  14. rust_in_peace77

    rust_in_peace77 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2001
    Messages:
    42
    I'm running WinME and theres no error

    Right when it reaches Checking Files and Folders it just instantly locks up, not just Scandisk itself but the whole System.
     
  15. SavvyLady

    SavvyLady

    Joined:
    Oct 14, 2001
    Messages:
    2,218
    You mean scan disk?? do that in safe mode & defrag....
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/63683

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice