1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

scanner doesn't work with win7

Discussion in 'Windows 7' started by americamba, Jun 11, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. americamba

    americamba Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2002
    Messages:
    497
    I had to buy laptop because my desktop with winxp died. Now how do I get the scanner to work with win7? I am not too good with complicated fixes. Has anyone had luck? I need to scan medical records.
    The scanner is a Canon Lide 55. thanks, Frank

    Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.1win7, scanner
    OS Version: Microsoft Windows 7 Home Premium , 64 bit
    Processor: Intel(R) Pentium(R) CPU P6200 @ 2.13GHz, Intel64 Family 6 Model 37 Stepping 5
    Processor Count: 2
    RAM: 1844 Mb
    Graphics Card: Intel(R) HD Graphics, 730 Mb
    Hard Drives: C: Total - 260242 MB, Free - 222580 MB; D: Total - 29690 MB, Free - 28507 MB;
    Motherboard: LENOVO, MoutCook, Not Applicable, WB01561071
    Antivirus: avast! Antivirus, Updated and Enabled
     
  2. parttimetechie

    parttimetechie Banned

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2009
    Messages:
    849
    It does not look like the scanner has a windows seven driver, and you have complicated the issue even further due to 64bit OS. Time to buy a new scanner it looks like.
     
  3. DaveA

    DaveA David Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 1999
    Messages:
    11,849
  4. flavallee

    flavallee Frank Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 12, 2002
    Messages:
    63,609
    The support site has a driver and software for Windows XP and Windows Vista, but not for Windows XP 64-bit or Windows Vista 64-bit. There's no driver or software at all for Windows 7 or Windows 7 64-bit.

    It's time for a new printer or scanner or all-in-one.

    -----------------------------------------------------------------
     
  5. peterh40

    peterh40

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2007
    Messages:
    1,283
  6. DaveA

    DaveA David Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Nov 16, 1999
    Messages:
    11,849
    I have a older yet Lide 25 working with my Windows 7 64 bit machine and if I remember right I used the twain drivers that came with Windows 7 64 bit.
     
  7. americamba

    americamba Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2002
    Messages:
    497
    Thanks guys,

    Peterh40, I tried VueScan. It looks promising but I couldn't get it going. So meanwhile DaveA where and how do get the twain drivers that come with win7 64 bit?

    thanks, Frank
     
  8. andrewlekenko

    andrewlekenko

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    if you have Windows 7 Prof or Ultimate or Enterprise you can try free (really free, we want to get more experience with different scanners and all this is more fun for us now, we do not collect anything from end users this is why it is free): http://www.scanworkssoftware.com/webscan.aspx
    this is software that allows to scan directly from browser. So you can install SharedScanner into XP Mode and do scan from any PC or Mac in your network (or simply from your Windows 7). Will be glad to receive any questions/complaints
     
  9. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1001796