1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Scanner problem...please help

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by KrzyPrk, Jan 29, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. KrzyPrk

    KrzyPrk Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2001
    Messages:
    328
    Hi,

    I tried to install 2 different working scanners in my sisters's PC. They both work at my friend's house. Anyway, after installing them, everything seemed fine until I tried to work the scanner w/ the software. It doesnt detect the scanner.

    Here's the message:

    Scanner is not found! Please check the following:
    (1) LPT port (SPP/EPP) is enabled.
    (2) Power adapter is plugged in the scanner connector.
    (3) Parallel port cable is plugged into the LPT port.

    It comes up fine in the device manager though. Also another thing, the PC tends to lock up more after plugging the scanner.

    Please help here...

    thanks
     
  2. Jedi_Master

    Jedi_Master

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2002
    Messages:
    5,520
    Howdy there KrzyPrk...

    Can you provide some more info, like the make and model of the scanner, and the OS that is being used ?
     
  3. dud

    dud Guest

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2003
    Messages:
    122
    We'll need to know some stuff first, like the specifications of the PC that won't recognise it (ie processor, memory etc). What OS does it use? What make of scanner and is it USB or Parrallel?
    It all helps..

    :cool:
     
  4. KrzyPrk

    KrzyPrk Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2001
    Messages:
    328
    wow..that was quick...thanks guys

    Its a USB PrimaScan 2400u. Running Windows 2000. AMD 1.2Gig processor, Asus A7M266 mobo w/ 256MB Crucial DDR memory.

    I hope this helps
     
  5. dud

    dud Guest

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2003
    Messages:
    122
    Hmmm ok then... obvious stuff first..
    Does the scanner show up in System Properties Device Manager under Imaging Devise? Is there an exclamation mark or red cross through it?
    What about the usb.. does that show correctly? Is the usb actually enabled in the bios (have you used a usb device on that machine prior to this?)
    Are you using the correct drivers? A driver that works on a different OS to 2000 will probably not work.
    Thats just one or two things to ponder to start with...then I'll join you in the head scratching!!

    :D
     
  6. slipe

    slipe

    Joined:
    Jun 27, 2000
    Messages:
    6,832
  7. KrzyPrk

    KrzyPrk Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2001
    Messages:
    328
    I got it to work. I had to use some other software where I can configure the selection of the scanner. It was somehow defaulted to this old scanner which wouldnt work w/ Win2k.

    thanks again guys
     
  8. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/115989

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice