1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

scanner saying not connected

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by thibs, Sep 29, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. thibs

    thibs Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2002
    Messages:
    11
    When I installed the scaner when I had WinME.
    Now I upgraded to WinXP.Had to reinstall the scanner.
    The product is a SnapScan e20.
    When I was done installing it,a message came on ,still does,
    saying,( Please connect or switch on the scanner).
    I was connected,so I tried my printers ubs cord.
    It's still saying to connect.
    Please help me!
     
  2. kiwiguy

    kiwiguy

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2003
    Messages:
    17,584
    Did you download the Windows XP driver for your scanner, or just reinstall the Windows ME driver?

    There is an XP driver available here

    If you have not used this resource before, the login name is "drivers", the password is "all".
     
  3. thibs

    thibs Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2002
    Messages:
    11
    I cannot find AFGA Snapscan e20 in the list .How will I go about downloading the driver, it looked complicated.:confused:
     
  4. kiwiguy

    kiwiguy

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2003
    Messages:
    17,584
    Not sure why you say you cant find the Snapscan e20 in the list. What list?

    That link took you straight to the page that shows the file that is available.

    It says:
    SnapScan e20 001 Agfa Rx.icm

    I do not have that Scanner so I cant be of any greater help than pointing you towards a file, and its worth mentioning that these files don't always turn out to be the ones you want or need.

    If you do not know how to install a driver, it may bay to move to the next option:

    Another option:
    I assume you may have already visited the home page of Agfa, who make the scanner, but in case you haven't:

    They have all the drivers and software for download for your scanner as well. Its a massive file (11 MB) version 2.0.0.9

    If thats later than what came with the scanner, give it a try. It says its for win 95 98 ME, 2000 and XP

    Its available here, click on this link

    Download this file, save to your desktop and click on it. Its self extracting.
     
  5. thibs

    thibs Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2002
    Messages:
    11
    I downloaded the file , saved to desktop.I clicked to open it ,still saying to connect or switch on the computer.
    My version was a 1.5 ,now it's 2.0 ,does that matter.
    Beforeasking for your help I did post a letter to the Agfa
    support sight .Posted 3 seperated times asking them for help.
    They got me a case # .I never heard from them yet.
    And I didn't see anything in the microsoft updates either.

    Thank you for your help .
     
  6. Krall

    Krall

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2003
    Messages:
    69
    Did you remove the scanner from the computer's device manager before re-installing the driver? You gotta remove it first and get those old registry entries out before you put your new stuff on.
     
  7. thibs

    thibs Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2002
    Messages:
    11
    How do I do that !
    Can you guide me step by step please.
    I want to do it right and learn from it.

    thank you.
     
  8. Krall

    Krall

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2003
    Messages:
    69
    First, right click on MY COMPUTER
    point to PROPERTIES and LEFT CLICK
    Click HARDWARE tab
    click DEVICE MANAGER button
    new window will open
    Now, please look in the list and see if any catogories have the word scanner in it. Please post telling me what you see (a screen capture would be nice if you know how to do it) If you dont seen scanner post your whole list dont click any plus signs yet
     
  9. thibs

    thibs Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2002
    Messages:
    11
    in the list I see they're is a minus sign beside imaging device,
    and also a yellow ! beside Snapscan.
     
  10. Krall

    Krall

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2003
    Messages:
    69
    ok, go to where you see the yellow ! and RIGHT click on the Snapscan. Click UNINSTALL. It will probably ask you if you are sure so just say yes if it does. That will remove it from your system. REBOOT. NOW, find the driver file Kiwiguy had you download. Double click on it and re-install your scanner. see if it works.
     
  11. thibs

    thibs Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2002
    Messages:
    11
    I tried uninstalling Snapscan scanner,I keep getting a message
    saying,Failed to uninstall the device . The device may be required
    to boot up the computer.
    So I restarted the computer.Tried it three times ,keeps saying
    that it failed.
     
  12. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    Remove it in safe mode.
     
  13. thibs

    thibs Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2002
    Messages:
    11
    I tried it in safe mode, I'm still getting the same message.
    ( failed to uninstall,blah blah blah blah blah )
     
  14. ~Candy~

    ~Candy~ Retired Administrator

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2001
    Messages:
    103,706
    Can you post what you have running at startup?

    Start, run, msinfo32 and ok....go to software, startups, edit, select all, edit, copy and come back and paste.
     
  15. thibs

    thibs Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2002
    Messages:
    11
    AdaptecDirectCD "c:\program files\adaptec\easy cd creator 5\directcd\directcd.exe" All Users HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run
    HPDJ Taskbar Utility c:\windows\system32\spool\drivers\w32x86\3\hpztsb05.exe All Users HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run
    POINTER point32.exe All Users HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run
    ccApp "c:\program files\common files\symantec shared\ccapp.exe" All Users HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run
    ccRegVfy "c:\program files\common files\symantec shared\ccregvfy.exe" All Users HKLM\SOFTWARE\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Run
    desktop desktop.ini NT AUTHORITY\SYSTEM Startup
    desktop desktop.ini USER-9NFTJSLOZ6\ser Startup
    desktop desktop.ini .DEFAULT Startup
    desktop desktop.ini All Users Common Startup
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/168347

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice