1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Scanner won't install on XP

Discussion in 'Hardware' started by bubbadawg, Jan 2, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. bubbadawg

    bubbadawg Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2005
    Messages:
    17
    Hello All---

    I am attempting to install my Epson 1200U Scanner on my WinXP Sp2 machine. I have the correct drivers and run the setup properly, including having the scanner off when installing.After the setup has completed when I turn the scanner on, a balloon pops up in the taskbar indicating that it's found the 1200U scanner. I am then prompted with a dialogue box to install. I click next telling windows to automatically install. It then searches and is unable to complete the installation.

    Any suggestions on how to resolve this issue. The scanner used to work on my old Gigabyte board, but I have recently upgraded to an Asus board. I have tried disabling the anti-virus software, Trend-Micro, while installing.

    Thanks for any and all replies.
     
  2. qldit

    qldit

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2005
    Messages:
    3,390
  3. bubbadawg

    bubbadawg Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2005
    Messages:
    17
    Thanks for the reply. Your link (session) expired, so I am not exactly sure what you are referencing, however, here is the link to the software that I am downloading. I believe that is the twain driver. I am using Photoshop for my images.

    Thanks for the help.
     
  4. qldit

    qldit

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2005
    Messages:
    3,390
    G'day, yes that is the exact one I was looking at. This twain thing is applicable for cameras, scanners and all kinds of devices.
    I have no idea why it isn't included with W-XP.
    Cheers, qldit.
     
  5. bubbadawg

    bubbadawg Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2005
    Messages:
    17
    Ok, so now I got it to install, but when I look under the device manager I see the following under the UNKNOWN TAB:

    [​IMG]

    When I attempt to use the scanner via Photoshop, I get the following error:

    [​IMG]

    Any ideas?

    Thanks.
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/430240

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice