1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Scanpst.exe freezes

Discussion in 'All Other Software' started by jaccal, Dec 17, 2003.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. jaccal

    jaccal Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2003
    Messages:
    13
    Outlook was acting finicky. So I searched for scanpst.exe and ran it, problems were found. When I hit the repair button the program froze. I've tried about 4 times even in safemode. Any thoughts?

    XP home, Office 2000, Sony laptop, 300MB's free space on c-drive

    Thanks

    Alan
     
  2. djdpimp420

    djdpimp420

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2003
    Messages:
    245
    First try going to microsofts website and run office update. If it still doesn't work try doing a reinstall. You should also clear up some space on your hard drive as well. Delete your temp files.

    Office Update:
    http://office.microsoft.com/officeupdate/default.aspx
     
  3. jaccal

    jaccal Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2003
    Messages:
    13
    Thanks for your suggestions. Already have updates, and have cleaned out as much drive as possible. When you suggest 'reinstall', what program are you suggesting to reinstall? Office or Scanpst?
     
  4. cybertech

    cybertech Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2002
    Messages:
    69,444
    How large is this pst? Can you access it at all?
     
  5. jaccal

    jaccal Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2003
    Messages:
    13
    It is 399,297 kb. I can access, but cannot back it up, keep getting message that file is corrupted
     
  6. cybertech

    cybertech Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2002
    Messages:
    69,444
    Create another pst file and move your items into it. You may come across some that won't move, just press on and come back to those.

    BTW Have you ever compressed your file? That would be a right click on the folder, properties, advanced, compact now. I wouldn't try that right now, just wanted to mention it.
     
  7. jaccal

    jaccal Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2003
    Messages:
    13
    not quite sure how to do all that. i'm in Application Data\Microsoft\Outlook folder. 1. how do i create, what do i do with current files etc. Also which file is it, does not show .pst on any file..can i send you jpeg of window?
     
  8. cybertech

    cybertech Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2002
    Messages:
    69,444
    You create the new pst from within Outlook. Tools, Services, add, personal folders.

    Search your drive for *.pst to find out where your current pst folder is.
     
  9. jaccal

    jaccal Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2003
    Messages:
    13
    create new .pst is under 'file' in my outlook version. if i create a new 'personal folders(1)' it just goes in same folder? also
    where do i find my items?how do i move my 'items' into it?

    sorry if i sound so daft, familiar with parts of this but not all.
     
  10. jaccal

    jaccal Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2003
    Messages:
    13
    can I chuck the BAK file? I have a backed up .pst from 2 weeks ago if all fails. Would deleting that file maybe free up enough room so 'repair' can build new file?
     
  11. cybertech

    cybertech Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2002
    Messages:
    69,444
    What version of outlook are you using? I thought you said office 2000.

    To move the files you must first create a new pst file then you just drag and drop from the old pst to the new one.

    When you do new, personal folder you need to give it a different name than the old one.
     
  12. cybertech

    cybertech Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2002
    Messages:
    69,444

    I was wondering if space was a problem. I see no reason not to delete the bak since you have a backup.
     
  13. cybertech

    cybertech Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2002
    Messages:
    69,444
  14. jaccal

    jaccal Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2003
    Messages:
    13
    i am using 2000. the .pst file is a self contained file, i don't understand how to drag and drop? I thought the extra mb's might allow scanpst to work...
     
  15. jaccal

    jaccal Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2003
    Messages:
    13
    hmmm...i am not using exchange...maybe that is why different config then you thought
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/187992