scans time out

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

pslater

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 13, 2011
Messages
6
I have a Windows 7 64 bit computer and a Xerox 6180 multi function printer/copier/fax/scanner. I used to get 'login errors' while trying to scan to a folder on my computer. I fixed the login issue yet now all scan attempts 'time out' without completing. I can print to the device just fine but scans to the folder on my computer just 'time out'. I have installed the most recent Xerox Scan Driver for this device.

Xerox tech support says this is a common problem with W7 yet they want at least $160/yr for an annual service contract that includes 'level 2' tech support that will allow their techs to track (online) why W7 networking is not allowing the scan to complete.

Has anyone else ever had this problem? The same scanner scans to my wife's iMac just fine.
 

Ent

Josiah
Retired Trusted Advisor
Joined
Apr 11, 2009
Messages
5,467
You have marked this thread solved. If this was intentional and is correct, please post the solution that you found so that others can benefit. If incorrect, please Click the "Mark Unsolved" button at the top of the thread until a real solution is found. This means that other helpers are more likely to notice this question and find a solution.
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
81,309
Are you initiating the scan from the multi-function or from the computer? If the former, does it work when you start the scan from the computer?
 

pslater

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 13, 2011
Messages
6
I am initiating the scan from the multi function device. Windows 7 seems to only recognize this device as a printer.

Thanks!
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
81,309
Windows 7 seems to only recognize this device as a printer.
Then I'm pretty sure--not positive- that it is not going to accept anything the scanner tries to send. How did you install the device? For me to use my HP all-in-one as a scanner I install it using HP's enormous installation package for whatever system on which I'm installing. I suspect you have to do similarly with yours.
 

pslater

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 13, 2011
Messages
6
Xerox uses web a based program called CentreWare. once I set up the address book entry, scanning worked fine on my Windows XP Pro computer. Since I've gotten the new Windows 7 computer, it won't send scanned documents (it times out) to the destination folder on my laptop. Windows 7 found the multi function and installed it on its own.

Thanks!
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
81,309
Windows 7 found the multi function and installed it on its own.
I think it would be more accurate to say that it installed the printer portion. Previously you said,

Windows 7 seems to only recognize this device as a printer.
You have no Imaging devices in Device Manager, right?
 

pslater

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 13, 2011
Messages
6
Right, no imaging devices. It baffles me that it worked in XP but won't in W7.
 

pslater

Thread Starter
Joined
Jan 13, 2011
Messages
6
Thanks for the suggestions. I had already installed the W7 scan driver but I missed the W7 utilities package. I installed the utilities package and reinstalled the scan driver and still have the same problem. Sigh. The Xerox tech support website is woefully light on W7 stuff.

Thanks!!
 

TerryNet

Terry
Moderator
Joined
Mar 23, 2005
Messages
81,309
I think that line "Note: The scan driver can only be installed over USB" is strange. I wonder if that means the scanner works with Windows 7 only with a USB connection? That would sad and pretty poor if true.
 

Noyb

Jay
Trusted Advisor
Spam Fighter
Joined
May 25, 2005
Messages
21,191
See if you can scan using W7s Windows Fax and Scan.
If this works .. Then the scanner Twain driver is installed and working.

I use a similar method (Irfanview) to workaround (avoid) having to use HPs problematic scanning software.
 

Attachments

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Members online

Top