1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

scheduled task

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by seeneedee, Jan 11, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. seeneedee

    seeneedee Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2010
    Messages:
    23
    hi,

    I made scheduled task for auto shut down by shutdown-s command in scheduled task. it is working manually,but not at scheduled time.
     
  2. TheOutcaste

    TheOutcaste

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    9,028
    Does your user account have a password? IF your account doesn't have a password, Scheduled Tasks won't run.
    What error is shown for the scheduled task in the Status column?
    Check the log for more info:
    In the Scheduled Tasks window click Advanced | View Log
     
  3. seeneedee

    seeneedee Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2010
    Messages:
    23
    hi,

    My account has password ,i entered the same during scheduled task creation.please take reference from attachment(.txt ,.jpg).it will be useful locate the issue for you.
     

    Attached Files:

  4. Macboatmaster

    Macboatmaster Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2010
    Messages:
    22,553
    Here are the full instructions
    Open Control Panel.
    Double click on Scheduled Tasks.
    In the Scheduled Tasks folder, double click on Add Scheduled
    Task.
    When the Scheduled Task Wizard starts, hit the Next button.
    After a short time you should see a box with a Browse button
    underneath it.
    Click on the Browse button.
    This should bring up "Select Program to Schedule".
    Navigate to the C:\Windows\System32 folder.
    Scroll through this folder till you locate shutdown.exe.
    Click on shutdown.exe so that it's listed in the "File name"
    box.
    Hit the Open button.
    Back in the Scheduled Task Wizard, select an appropriate name
    for this task like Shutdown.
    Select Daily under "Perform this task".
    Hit the Next button.
    Enter the time you want the computer to shut down.
    Hit the Next button.
    Enter a user name and password.
    Note: The account you use to run this task must have a
    non-blank password.
    Hit Next.
    On the next page, put a check mark in the box next to "Open
    advanced properties for this task when I click Finish".
    Hit the Finish button.
    You should now see the properties sheet for the Shutdown task.
    Click on the Task tab.
    In the Run line, you should see the following:

    C:\WINDOWS\system32\shutdown.exe

    You need to add -s -t 00 to this entry. It should end up
    looking like this. or whatever time you wish.

    C:\WINDOWS\system32\shutdown.exe -s -t 00

    Next, click on the Settings tab.
    Put a check mark in the box next to "Wake the computer to run
    this task". That way, if the computer is on standby, it will
    still be shut down.
    Click OK.

    Additionally please bear in mind that you need to ensure that automatic updates etc or any other management program is not running and downloading/installing at this scheduled time, otherwise you will of course have problems.
     
  5. TheOutcaste

    TheOutcaste

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2007
    Messages:
    9,028
    The task is running and exiting without returning an error, which usually means a syntax error. (The error code is passed to the cmd.exe shell, but it doesn't pass it to the Task Scheduler; the exit code of 0 is from cmd.exe exiting).

    If you forgot the space before the -s switch that would do it.
    The command has to be
    shutdown -s
    not
    shutdown-s

    This will display the shutdown dialog with the default 30 second countdown.
    Edit the current task command line, or delete it and create a new one using the steps Macboatmaster has posted
    The -t lets you set the time of the countdown, with it set to zero as above, it will shutdown immediately with no dialog.
     
  6. seeneedee

    seeneedee Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 22, 2010
    Messages:
    23
  7. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/973995

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice