1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

School issued Chromebooks hogging home WiFi signal

Discussion in 'Networking' started by Cernoma, Jan 6, 2015.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. Cernoma

Cernoma Thread Starter

In trying to research this issue online, I almost feel like I'm imagining things... I'm a pretty tech savvy guy but just can't figure out why I'm having this new issue..

My daughters each received a school issued chrome book (2 chromebooks in total)... They are supposed to complete all school work on them.

Pretty cool... Free chrome books... The issue arises at home. When they use the home WiFi (supported by xfinity issued WiFi rental router)... All other users are, in effect booted from their pre-existing connections... It feels like the new Chromebooks are taking a priority over WiFi connection.

Now... last year, my daughters each used a laptop (not issued by school) for their work... Last year no one lost their existing WiFi connection... The rest of the family is using windows (laptop) or android (phone) products.

In comparison from year to year there is an equal count of devices that would consume a WiFi signal.. Again.. The only difference is that two laptops were flipped to chrome books

When the girls finish their homework, everyone else can get back online...

My question

It feels like the chrome books are set up in a way such that they will have priority over consuming signal... Perhaps even trading taking a bigger chunk...