1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Scotty the watchdog keeps asking about this

Discussion in 'Windows Vista' started by southbay, Nov 19, 2011.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. southbay

    southbay Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    what is:
    C:\Program Files\Hewlett-Packard\On-Screen OSD Indicator\OSD.exe

    Tech Support Guy System Info Utility version 1.0.0.2
    OS Version: Microsoft® Windows Vista™ Home Premium, Service Pack 2, 64 bit
    Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM)2 Duo CPU T5850 @ 2.16GHz, Intel64 Family 6 Model 15 Stepping 13
    Processor Count: 2
    RAM: 4094 Mb
    Graphics Card: NVIDIA GeForce 9300M GS, 256 Mb
    Hard Drives: C: Total - 465171 MB, Free - 340174 MB; D: Total - 11766 MB, Free - 1572 MB;
    Motherboard: PEGATRON CORPORATION., EVE
    Antivirus: Sophos Anti-Virus, Updated: No, On-Demand Scanner: Disabled
     
  2. Cheeseball81

    Cheeseball81 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2004
    Messages:
    84,315
  3. blues_harp28

    blues_harp28 Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    18,820
  4. southbay

    southbay Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Thank you very much:

    cheeseball81 and bluues_harp28. (y)
    You have relieved my nervousness at having it run and not understanding what it's for.
     
  5. Cheeseball81

    Cheeseball81 Retired Moderator

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2004
    Messages:
    84,315
    You're welcome :)
     
  6. blues_harp28

    blues_harp28 Trusted Advisor Spam Fighter

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2005
    Messages:
    18,820
    If you do not use the On-Screen Display software - say no to scotty allowing it to run.
    You can always re-enable it at any time in WinPatrol start up tab.
     
  7. Elvandil

    Elvandil

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2003
    Messages:
    51,988
  8. southbay

    southbay Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Great, thanks blues_harp28. I think I'll do that!
     
  9. Elvandil

    Elvandil

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2003
    Messages:
    51,988
    If you stop it from starting in the first place, Scotty won't have to use that CPU power to try to terminate the process and keep it terminated. He may end up playing Whack-A-Mole with the program.
     
  10. southbay

    southbay Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Very good point elvandil. Thanks very much
     
  11. Elvandil

    Elvandil

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2003
    Messages:
    51,988
    Well, I'm not sure how Scotty does it. He may actaully just remove it from startup himself. But if it is a stubborn program, or starts unusually, Scotty could even end up slowing your machine in trying to carry out his master's orders. Just to be on the safe side.
     
  12. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/1027547

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice