1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Screen capture

Discussion in 'All Other Software' started by mygoose, Mar 31, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. mygoose

    mygoose Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2009
    Messages:
    454
    I was recommended FastStoneCapture for capturing shots of sections of the screen but I’m finding it a bit complicated.

    Can anyone suggest something a bit simpler please?

    mygoose
     
  2. Noyb

    Noyb Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 25, 2005
    Messages:
    20,749
  3. mygoose

    mygoose Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2009
    Messages:
    454
    Hello Noyb

    Many thanks.

    Yes I use Prt Scr quite a lot (with Paint) but have never ventured into anything else.

    It was suggested I use a screen capture program now as I will have to send small bites that can be clicked on and opened up by the recipient and it was said that Prt Scr is too basic.

    The thing is that I know absolutely nothing about it and use Prt Scr just for flat pictures often quite large.

    I spent considerable time looking at the suggested FastStoneCapture but could not see what to do and it gave me a fright.

    Kind regards
    mygoose
     
  4. Noyb

    Noyb Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 25, 2005
    Messages:
    20,749
    You should be able to Paste the PrtScr copy to FastStone ... and edit it.

    I use Irfanview for my system default Image Viewer and Basic Editor ... http://www.irfanview.com/
    And have a Shortcut made to do the open Irfanview and Paste function ..
    After pressing PrtScr ... or ALT+PrtScr

    Holler if you're interested
     
  5. Phantom010

    Phantom010 Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2009
    Messages:
    34,760
    Simple little program: MWSnap
     
  6. mygoose

    mygoose Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2009
    Messages:
    454
    Thanks Noyb but sorry this is all rather above me.

    I need to start at the beginning but am not sure where that is.

    I'm not sure FastStone is a good idea. I downloaded the tutorial and could not understand a word of it.

    Kind regards
    mygoose
     
  7. mygoose

    mygoose Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2009
    Messages:
    454
    Hello Phantom010

    Thanks

    I thought I would download that and give it a try but your link went to a download with two links labelled Site 1 and Site 2.

    I downloaded Site 1 but Site 2 said it was unavailable. Then I got a message saying Not all hotkeys could be registered.

    Could you please explain all this?

    Kind regards
    mygoose
     
  8. stantley

    stantley

    Joined:
    May 22, 2005
    Messages:
    7,091
  9. Noyb

    Noyb Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    May 25, 2005
    Messages:
    20,749
    Performing a Screen Capture is a simple COPY > PASTE procedure.

    Pressing PrtScr will do a COPY of the picture going to your Monitor.
    ALT+PrtScr will COPY just the active window being displayed.

    Now .. You must PASTE to something that will recognize a picture.

    Press PrtSCr .. open FastStone and do a PASTE
    then you can edit the pic if needed .. and save it somewhere.
     
  10. mygoose

    mygoose Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2009
    Messages:
    454
    Thanks and I downloaded that but when I clicked on it I still got the message that Not all hotkeys could be registered?

    mygoose
     
  11. stantley

    stantley

    Joined:
    May 22, 2005
    Messages:
    7,091
    I haven't gotten that message but it shouldn't be a problem. It just means for some types of capture you'll have to use different hotkeys than the default.
     
  12. mygoose

    mygoose Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2009
    Messages:
    454
    Thanks but what are hotkeys please?

    mygoose
     
  13. stantley

    stantley

    Joined:
    May 22, 2005
    Messages:
    7,091
    Hotkeys are usually a shortcut to launch a program or perform a certain function.

    What kind of screen capture are you trying to do?
     
  14. mygoose

    mygoose Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2009
    Messages:
    454
    Thanks.

    It was suggested I use a screen capture program now as I will have to send small bites of the screen that can be clicked on and opened up by the recipient and it was said that Prt Scr is too basic.

    They have to be less that 256KB when sent.

    mygoose
     
  15. stantley

    stantley

    Joined:
    May 22, 2005
    Messages:
    7,091
    Then probably what you want is "any rectangular area". Start up MWSnap and hit Shift + Ctrl + A, then draw the rectangle, click the mouse and it will capture that part of the screen.

    If you want to save them as a file, go to Tools > Settings > Auto Saving, click on "Auto saving is active" and change the type to jpeg.
     
  16. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/814300

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice