Screen keeps blinking

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

bbyboop1977

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 23, 2003
Messages
119
I'm getting so tired of this and it hurts my eyes too. Every so often my screen starts to blink and it keeps doing that until I restart the computer, then it stops and then starts and then stops, starts. Way annoying. Any ideas on why it is doing this and how to fix it would be really great. Thanks in advance for any help.
 
Joined
Mar 8, 2004
Messages
2,326
Sounds like you need a new driver for your graphics card.Go to Control Panel/System,on the Hardware tab,select Device Manager,and look for any yellow !'s.

Come back with the info and we will help you get sorted out.
 
Joined
Mar 8, 2004
Messages
2,326
Go back to Device Manager and find out which graphics card you have,then go to manufacturer's website and download a new dirver
 
Joined
Apr 12, 2000
Messages
226
I had a similar problem ages ago. Turned out that my settings were too high for my graphics card or monitor to handle. Until you find the drivers..
Try right clicking on desktop > properties > settings > advance > monitor and reduce the refresh rate Hz. If it continues, try knocking down your resolution a tad if you have it set high.
 

bbyboop1977

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 23, 2003
Messages
119
Went to look and it only goes to 60 hertz and it's all ready on that and doesn't go any lower. resolution is as low as it goes.
 
Joined
Mar 8, 2004
Messages
2,326
If you want to save your eyes, you need to RAISE the refresh rate to the highest setting you can, but make sure that there is a check in the box at "Hide modes that this monitor cannot display"

If your refresh rate was already on 60 hertz,that was your problem.
 

bbyboop1977

Thread Starter
Joined
Nov 23, 2003
Messages
119
Okay I switched it to 85 hertz which is the highest it will go. Hopefully that will fix the problem. I hope anyway. Thanks rude
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Members online

Top