1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

screen resolution

Discussion in 'Earlier Versions of Windows' started by kelly.foster, Apr 7, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. kelly.foster

    kelly.foster Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2004
    Messages:
    5
    scree3n resolution has changed from800-600 to 600-480 and am unable to get it back to 800-600
     
  2. Cowboy622

    Cowboy622

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2001
    Messages:
    783
    I had a similar problem when I put in a new video card. I used the disk that
    came with it to provide the drivers and they were already obsolete. Even
    then, I downloaded newer drivers and still couldn't get it out of 16 colors or off 480x 600.
    I took the video card out and tried to return it and was told that after you
    have the video card in, most current drivers downloaded, you need to change
    the adapter refresh rate. For some reason the adapter refresh rate defaults
    to "unknown" and as long as that's what it is set at you can't get out of 16
    colors. I took the card home, reinstalled it and darn if it wasn't true. I
    changed the adapter refresh from "unknown" to "adapter default". apply
    reboot; then changed it from "adapter default" to "optimal" and apply,
    reboot. (You have to do this in increments because if you go from "unknown"
    to "optimal" it defaults back to "unknown". Try right clicking on
    desktop>properties> settings tab> advanced button> adapter tab and change it if on "unknown". Just worth a try. But keep in mind that you may need updated drivers from maker's web site.
    This may not help you but may be worth a try. It has happened to me four different times for no reason that I can figure out but all of a sudden my refresh rate is on "unknown".
     
  3. etaf

    etaf Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2003
    Messages:
    65,255
    First Name:
    Wayne
  4. kelly.foster

    kelly.foster Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2004
    Messages:
    5
    T hanks very much for the information. It set me heading in the right direction.The driver was corrupted,but after installing mainboard cd I managed to find the correct driver and reset up my computer. Again thanks very much, I dont think I would have been able to resolve this problem on my own. I'm still very new to computers but am learning quickly.
     
  5. Filewasp

    Filewasp

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2003
    Messages:
    664
    is this solved? If so please click the little red triangle in the upper right of your last post and report it to clear this thread. Glad you got it fixed!
     
  6. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/218018

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice