1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Screen Saver/NT

Discussion in 'Windows XP' started by dcj, Dec 4, 2001.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. dcj

    dcj Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2001
    Messages:
    2
    I have a P3, 650hz, and 64MB ram. This pc had a donloaded screensaver loaded on it and then it started locking up during when the screensaver was enabled. I removed the screensaver and put one of NT's default screen saver on. It does the same thign when it is activated it just stops and then if you press the keyboard it will come back up but is really slow. I have reloaded SP6 on it and didn't help

    Any ideas??
     
  2. eddie5659

    eddie5659 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2001
    Messages:
    35,992
    Hiya and welcome

    I use Win2000 but lets hope it works for NT. Go to Run and type MSINFO32. If this does not open, go to Programs | Accessories | System Tools | System Information.

    On the left choose Software Enviroment, then Startup Programs. copy/paste the list.

    Also, can you tell me the name and/or the site where you got it?

    Regards

    eddie
     
  3. dcj

    dcj Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2001
    Messages:
    2
    Sorry it took me so long to respond, I will check into this and see if I can find out what the site was.

    What do I do afte I copy that info out of that program?
     
  4. eddie5659

    eddie5659 Moderator Malware Specialist

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2001
    Messages:
    35,992
    Hiya

    If you can manage to copy it, then paste it here by rightclicking in the reply box.

    If you cannot copy, you may have to do what I do in 2000. Actions | Save As Text File.

    Then, when I've saved this to a folder, say My Documents, then I just Highlight All using rightclick, and then I paste here, using the same.

    Regards

    eddie
     
As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/60652

  1. This site uses cookies to help personalise content, tailor your experience and to keep you logged in if you register.
    By continuing to use this site, you are consenting to our use of cookies.
    Dismiss Notice