1. Computer problem? Tech Support Guy is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations. Click here to join today! If you're new to Tech Support Guy, we highly recommend that you visit our Guide for New Members.

Screen Saver won't work with Vista

Discussion in 'Windows Vista' started by daniels012, Mar 14, 2008.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
Advertisement
  1. daniels012

    daniels012 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2007
    Messages:
    417
    I know this is not a MAJOR problem, but I was just curious;

    I have a laptop HP Pavillion dv9310us with Vista Home Premium.
    I set the screen saver to 1 min and nothing happens. Is something set to
    block my screen saver from happening or is there a special setting with
    Vista to unblock my screen saver?

    Thank You very much,
    Michael
     
  2. bhahar84

    bhahar84

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2008
    Messages:
    93
    Open up the Windows Update, by going to the website www.windowsupdate.com

    You'll get a list of updates here

    Choose the HID Non-User Input Data Filter

    Install the updates

    Then, restart the computer. Is the screensaver working now :cool:
     
  3. daniels012

    daniels012 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2007
    Messages:
    417
    That did it.
    I am not sure if you know... why would Screen Savers not work on a new version of Vista?

    Thank You for your help bhahar84

    Michael
     
  4. bhahar84

    bhahar84

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2008
    Messages:
    93
    Actually its not that screensaver does not work on Vista, but the operating system is detected there is a activity going on when you using the wireless keyboard and mouse (you are using wireless one too, right :D )

    So, the updates that I asked you install just now is the patch to overcome this issue. And thats how it was working now :D
     
  5. loserOlimbs

    loserOlimbs

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2004
    Messages:
    7,800
    Wow, thats great to see.

    Welcome aboard and I hope to see more from you!
     
  6. daniels012

    daniels012 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2007
    Messages:
    417
    It is a notebook computer, so no it is not a wireless keyboard!

    michael
     
  7. bhahar84

    bhahar84

    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2008
    Messages:
    93
    Ops, it is a notebook? :eek:

    However, the explanation I give earlier still apply in this condition. Most of the desktop user with the wireless keyboard and mouse experience this. And a few notebook users too ;)
     
  8. loserOlimbs

    loserOlimbs

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2004
    Messages:
    7,800
    Powersave mode possibly in the notebook BIOS?
     
  9. davehc

    davehc Trusted Advisor

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2006
    Messages:
    1,726
    The HID service is running by default, even if you have no wireless/infrared devices. This makes Vista/Screensaver think that there is still activity.
    The fix is good enough, but, if you are a dedicated customiser, you can go into the Services.msc and disable it. The result is the same.
     
  10. daniels012

    daniels012 Thread Starter

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2007
    Messages:
    417
    I disabled the HID service and my screen still just goes black instead of going to the screen saver.

    loserOlimbs,
    How do I check power save mode in the notebooks BIOS?

    Michael
     
  11. Sponsor

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 733,556 other people just like you!

Loading...
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Short URL to this thread: https://techguy.org/693233