Screen saver

Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

karbo

Thread Starter
Banned
Joined
Sep 2, 2003
Messages
2,239
I recently bought a new computer with a 512 MB graphic card. My old computer had a 128 MB card but at the beginning, I only had 8 MB. I was using a screen saver with fish in an aquarium. With only my 8 MB card, the animation was really impressive. I tried my screen saver yesterday with my new 512 MB card and the picture was terrible. There were plenty of horizontal lines on the screen. What could explain this? Could it be that the program wasn't intented for this type of card? In those days, big cards like mine didn't exist. There might be a new update to this screen saver.

Thanks
 
Joined
May 7, 2006
Messages
1,763
This may or may not help:

Control Panel>>Display.

In Display select the "Settings" tab.

Click on the "Advanced" button.

Select the "Monitor" tab.

Under "Monitor Settings" try adjusting the refresh rate.
 

karbo

Thread Starter
Banned
Joined
Sep 2, 2003
Messages
2,239
I tried that but not for long, since it reduces the screen's width. Then I have to completely reajust my monitor settings. By default, the value has always been at 60 Hz. Should it be increased?
 
Joined
May 7, 2006
Messages
1,763
Have you tried setting it at 75 or 85 Hertz? Can always reduce back to 60.
 

karbo

Thread Starter
Banned
Joined
Sep 2, 2003
Messages
2,239
I tried the refresh rate at 75 and the problem persists. I don't think it has anything to do with it.
 
Joined
May 7, 2006
Messages
1,763
Do the lines show up in Safe Mode? Is only the Screen Saver affected?

Another thing you might try - remote chance, but worth a shot - would be to physically unseat the graphics card, clean its contacts and the contacts in the board's slot, then remount it.
 

karbo

Thread Starter
Banned
Joined
Sep 2, 2003
Messages
2,239
It's a brand new graphics card installed on my new computer. I haven't tried in Safe Mode yet.
 

karbo

Thread Starter
Banned
Joined
Sep 2, 2003
Messages
2,239
I thank you for your help and the link, but I've downloaded one of those screensavers in the past. They're never completely free... They also send you a great deal of spyware with the download. You won't find a lot of free "malware free" screen savers on the net I'm afraid. There's always a catch.
 
Joined
May 7, 2006
Messages
1,763
I thank you for your help and the link, but I've downloaded one of those screensavers in the past. They're never completely free... They also send you a great deal of spyware with the download. You won't find a lot of free "malware free" screen savers on the net I'm afraid. There's always a catch.
That's what I was afraid of. Don't use a screensaver myself, but have heard of problems with downloaded savers. If the horizontal lines only happen when the screensaver is enabled, could be the saver itself.

Have you tried uninstalling and reinstalling the screensaver?
 

karbo

Thread Starter
Banned
Joined
Sep 2, 2003
Messages
2,239
Yes, I did.

Tomorrow, I'll install a game to see if all 3D animations do the same thing on my computer. We'll know for sure if it's the graphics card or the screen saver.
 
Status
This thread has been Locked and is not open to further replies. Please start a New Thread if you're having a similar issue. View our Welcome Guide to learn how to use this site.

Users Who Are Viewing This Thread (Users: 0, Guests: 1)

As Seen On
As Seen On...

Welcome to Tech Support Guy!

Are you looking for the solution to your computer problem? Join our site today to ask your question. This site is completely free -- paid for by advertisers and donations.

If you're not already familiar with forums, watch our Welcome Guide to get started.

Join over 807,865 other people just like you!

Latest posts

Staff online

Top